Cricket West Indies announces 14-man squad for Ireland tri-series ahead of World Cup

Cricket West Indies announces 14-man squad for Ireland tri-series ahead of World Cup

The tri-series will commence on May 5 and conclude on May 17.

Windies. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced the 14-man squad for the Windies’ upcoming ODI tri-series against Ireland and Bangladesh. Jason Holder continues to lead the side even as the nine players playing in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) are not available for the series. Shannon Gabriel and Jonathan Carter have been included in the squad while Shane Dowrich has earned his maiden ODI call-up.

The likes of Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Oshane Thomas, Nicholas Pooran, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph and Sherfane Rutherford are plying their trades in the IPL for different teams and the tournament will be concluding on May 12. The tri-series is set to commence on May 5 and will go on until May 17 and this will also be Windies’ last assignment before the World Cup starting on May 30.

This is not a World Cup squad

With so many mainstream players unavailable, the CWI director of cricket Jimmy Adams cleared that this is not a World Cup squad and the IPL bound will be considered for the mega event. “They have selected a squad to Ireland that allows a slightly wider pool of players to get 50-over experience in UK conditions which I think is very important. This is not the World Cup squad, as a number of players are not available for this series as they are still participating in the IPL,” he was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

The chairman of selectors Robert Haynes went on to say that the current team is picked only on the basis of availability and fitness. “We are immediately implementing the new policy of having the best West Indies team selected based on availability, form and fitness. The pace attack of Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach and Jason Holder will only serve to enhance the performances we expect from the team,” Haynes added.

As far as the tri-series is concerned, each team will play the other twice before the top two sides qualify for the final to be played on May 17 in Dublin.

Windies squad: Jason Holder (c), John Campbell, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach, Sunil Ambris, Raymond Reifer, Fabian Allen, Ashely Nurse, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Jonathan Carter.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier League (IPL)Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on