CSK vs MI Head to Head Record in IPL History

CSK did a double over MI by winning both the league matches of 2023 edition

View : 9.9K

105 Min Read

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni
Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Mumbai Indians (MI) have established themselves to be the most successful team in IPL history. They have completely dominated the oppositions in the last few seasons winning the trophy in consecutive years in 2019 and 2020. They also won the title earlier in 2013, 2015, and 2017. The game between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is often termed as the clash of the titans due to their previous rivalry in the league. It is also the most anticipated clash of the league every year attracting large numbers of fans. Notably, CSK is the second-most successful side after MI with 4 titles in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. 

CSK vs MI Head to Head:

Both teams have played a total of 36 games in IPL so far. In these games, MI have been successful in winning 20 matches while CSK have won 16 games. 

Matches Played CSK Won MI Won Tie No Result
36 16 20 0 0

Top Performers Between Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians

In the games held between these two sides in the IPL, Suresh Raina has scored the most runs (710) followed by MI skipper Rohit Sharma (700) and Ambati Rayudu (658). In the bowling department, Dwayne Bravo has picked up the most wickets (35) followed by Lasith Malinga (31) and Harbhajan Singh (26).

CSK vs MI last result:

Both powerhouses last met in Match No. 49 of IPL 2023 in Chennai where the Men in Yellow defeated the five-time champions MI by a margin of six wickets. The visitors batted first and managed to post only 139/8 on the board in their allotted 20 overs. Pacer Matheesha Pathirana was the pick of the CSK bowlers for his spell of 3/15 (4). In reply, opener Devon Conway scored 44 while Shivam Dube remained unbeaten on 26 as the home side reached the target in 17.4 overs.

Get IPL 2023 Live Score along with the latest IPL News, IPL Schedule, Points Table, & Stats Updates on CricTracker.

Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians in All-time Results:

Tournament    Venue Winner Margin
2023 IPL Chennai CSK 6 Wickets
2023 IPL Mumbai CSK 7 Wickets
2022 IPL Mumbai MI 5 Wickets
2022 IPL Navi Mumbai CSK 3 Wickets
2021 IPL Dubai CSK 20 runs
2021 IPL Delhi MI 4 Wickets
2020 IPL Abu Dhabi CSK 5 Wickets
2020 IPL Sharjah MI 10 Wickets
2019 IPL Mumbai MI 37 runs
2019 IPL Chennai MI 46 runs
2019 IPL Chennai MI 6 Wickets
2019 IPL Hyderabad MI 1 Run
2018 IPL Mumbai CSK 1 wicket
2018 IPL Pune MI 8 wickets
2015 IPL Mumbai CSK 6 wickets
2015 IPL Chennai MI 6 wickets
2015 IPL Mumbai MI 25 runs
2015 IPL Kolkata MI 41 runs
2014 IPL Dubai CSK 7 wickets
2014 IPL Mumbai CSK 4 wickets
2014 IPL Mumbai CSK 7 wickets
2013 IPL Chennai MI 9 runs
2013 IPL Mumbai MI 60 runs
2013 IPL Delhi CSK 48 runs
2013 IPL Kolkata MI 23 runs
2012 IPL Chennai MI 8 wickets
2012 IPL Mumbai MI 2 wickets
2012 IPL Bangalore CSK 38 runs
2011 IPL Mumbai MI 8 runs
2010 IPL Mumbai MI 5 wickets
2010 IPL Chennai CSK 24 runs
2010 IPL Navi Mumbai CSK 22 runs
2009 IPL Cape Town MI 19 runs
2009 IPL Port Elizabeth CSK 7 wickets
2008 IPL Chennai CSK 6 runs
2008 IPL Mumbai MI 9 wickets

*Last Updated: 06th May 2023

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store