CT 2017: Mohammad Kaif picks his India Playing XI for Pakistan clash

Hardik Pandya is a surprise exclusion from his list.

Mohammad Kaif
Former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif enjoys a light moment. (Photo by DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images)

The mother of all clashes is all set to get underway. Team India is ready to take on the arch-rivals Pakistan at Birmingham on June 4. The Indian team has managed to register big wins in both their warm-up games and are looking set for big clash. However, there will be serious selection conundrums for them going into the match. While the pundits are working on the permutations, Mohammad Kaif has already voiced his playing eleven.

The fans and the cricketers are giving their playing eleven of the Indian team for the big opening clash against Pakistan. The selection conundrums have come to the fore as the Indian players have been performing exceedingly well. Almost all players, except Yuvraj Singh, have had a decent time at the crease during the two warm-up matches. What combinations the team settles with remains to be seen.


For now, it is fun trying to guess out the probable XI. A Twitter user asked Mohammad Kaif to give his playing eleven for the match. He had a surprising playing eleven but a tried and tested one. Kaif picked Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan as the openers. Skipper Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, and MS Dhoni make up the middle-order in his playing eleven.

Kaif went ahead with Kedar Jadhav as another batsman in the lower middle-order. In the bowling department, he chose to go with two spinners and three pacers. Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja owned their places in the team. In the pace bowling department, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah made up the numbers.

It is surprising to see no room for Hardik Pandya in the lineup who was phenomenal with the bat in the warm-up against Bangladesh. Also, Umesh Yadav, who had picked up 3/16 in the same game also misses out in the Kaif’s list.

Mohammad Kaif Playing XI against Pakistan:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.