CWI announces West Indies squad for the ICC World Cup Qualifiers

The Windies have been accused of misplacing priorities in recent times.

Darren Sammy
Darren Sammy, Captain of the West Indies celebrates victory during the ICC World Twenty20 2016. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Last year the former World Champions West Indies failed to register their place in the top eight and were forced to play the World Cup Qualifiers with the nine other associate and affiliate nations to fight for the World Cup berth. The qualification process for the ICC World Cup 2019 is scheduled to take place from March 4 and it comprises of 34 matches and will be played from March 4 to 25 in Zimbabwe.

The Men from the Caribbean are placed in group A alongside Ireland, Netherland, Papua New Guinea and the winners of ICC Cricket League Division 2. Recently, the Cricket West Indies (CWI) confirmed that their star players Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell and will miss out the squad selection as they opted to play in Pakistan Super League (PSL).


Carlos Brathwaite and Marlon Samuels back in the squad

The CWI on Thursday (January 25) announced the 15 men Windies squad for the upcoming World Cup Qualifiers. According to their media release, the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup heroes Carlos Brathwaite and Marlon Samuels will be making their comeback to the ODI team.

Later the Chairman of the CWI, Courtney Browne commented on the squad selection and said, “We contacted some of our well-known senior cricketers to ascertain their availability for the tournament and we are pleased that Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels have indicated their full support and commitment to the cause.”

“Dwayne Bravo was not contacted as he had indicated previously that he is no longer available to play cricket for the West Indies.” Added Browne.

Here’s the Windies Squad for the World Cup Qualifiers

Jason Holder (Captain), Jason Mohammed (Vice-Captain), Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cotterell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope (Wicket Keeper), Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.

WINDIES ICC World Cup Qualifiers Schedule

March 6 – vs WCL Division 2 winners at Old Hararians

March 8 – vs Papua New Guinea at Old Hararians

March 10 – vs Ireland at Harare Sports Club

March 12 – vs Netherlands at Harare Sports Club

March 15 to March 23 – Super Six stage

March 25 – FINAL at Harare Sports Club