Dinesh Karthik chooses his all-time IPL XI; regrets not picking MS Dhoni

Dinesh Karthik chooses his all-time IPL XI; regrets not picking MS Dhoni

Unfortunately, DK couldn't pick MSD as it was against the condition placed.

Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Amid Coronavirus outbreak, the former and current cricketers are following the latest trend of giving out their preferred XIs based on certain scenarios. Earlier, Aakash Chopra, Wasim Jaffer, Azhar Ali, Shane Warne and many others gave their XIs. Now, Dinesh Karthik, the experienced wicketkeeper-batsman has also joined the bandwagon and revealed his all-time favourite IPL team with whom he has played in 12 seasons so far.

The 34-year-old currently plays for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL. He was all set to play for them in the 13th edition of the cash-rich league. However, BCCI postponed the tournament for an indefinite period due to the Coronavirus pandemic. Karthik is one of the most experienced players when it comes to IPL and he has played for several franchises like Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Lions, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab. This is the main reason that he played alongside many players in the IPL.

Dinesh Karthik joins the bandwagon and picks his XI

During the interaction with Cricbuzz, Karthik revealed his favourite all-time IPL with the condition that he should play at least one game with them in the cash-rich tournament. He picked Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir as his set of openers, with whom he played while he was the part of Delhi Daredevils now known as Delhi Capitals.

He also included Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma in his team. Karthik had played with Kohli while he was the part of RCB’s dressing room. He took the name of the Indian opener as he played with him when he was part of Mumbai Indians.

Interestingly, he picked himself for the wicketkeeper-batsman slot followed by a lethal pace trio of Glenn McGrath, Jasprit Bumrah and Mitchell Starc. Meanwhile, he also included Yuzvendra Chahal, who will lead the spin bowling department of the team. The 34-year-old included Andre Russell and Sunil Narine in the team as his preferred all-rounders.

In the end, Karthik also added that he regrets not being able to pick MS Dhoni and Ravichandran Ashwin in his team as he had never got an opportunity to play for them in the T20 tournament.

Dinesh Karthik’s all-time IPL XI:

Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma (C), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Glenn McGrath, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell Starc, Yuzvendra Chahal.