ENG vs PAK: England announces 12-man squad for the Lord’s Test

The first Test match is set to commence on May 24 at Lord's.

England team
England team  (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

England Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the Test squad for the first of the two-match Test series against Pakistan. Jos Buttler has been recalled to the team after a gap of 18 months as he had last played in the national side during the tour of India. The off-spinner Dom Bess has earned a maiden call-up as well after Jack Leach, the preferred spinner who played against New Zealand got injured. However, Moeen Ali has been left out after poor showings in the recent past.

While Mark Stoneman has managed to keep his place somehow, James Vince has been dropped after failing to make a mark in the Ashes and the subsequent New Zealand tour. The remainder of the line-up is similar as the selectors have kept faith in the veteran, Alastair Cook, as well. Few of the players in the Test squad are still in India and will have to leave the country soon now as they are expected to be in England by May 17.


Jos Buttler is likely to bat at number 7 in the side to push the run-scoring of the side when the chips are down and if his current form in the Indian Premier League (IPL) is anything to go by, Pakistan should be careful of him. The team looks a strong one and will be waiting for the players in India to join them before hitting the straps for the crucial upcoming series against Pakistan.

Who all will leave IPL?

Rajasthan Royals will lose the services of Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler and will be affected the most as the latter has been prolific for them at the top of the order. While Mark Wood has already left CSK squad, Chris Woakes will also join his teammates on the return flight to his home who played for RCB this season.

Here’s England’s squad for the first Test:

Alastair Cook, Mark Stoneman, Joe Root (c), Dawid Malan, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Dom Bess

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates