Advertisement

Fakhar Zaman had dreamt of being out on no-ball

Very early in his innings, when he was batting on 3, he had edged one to the wicket keeper off the bowling of Jasprit Bumrah.

Jasprit Bumrah and Fakhar Zaman
Umpire Marais Erasmus signals a wide and overturns the decision for the wicket of Pakistan’s Fakhar Zaman. (Photo by IAN KINGTON/AFP/Getty Images)

Talk about Fakhar Zaman a month ago and nobody would have batted an eye. And now, the name has become a household hero in Pakistan and a final-costing villain for team India. The heroics of Fakhar are well known to all. He showed exemplary batting skills in the recently concluded ICC Champions Trophy. He missed out on the first game of the tournament for Pakistan against India.

Zaman got his first go against South Africa where he showed brief glimpses of what is capable of doing. In the next two games against Sri Lanka and England, he scored brilliant fifties in the top order. However, he had saved the best for the last. In the big finals against India, he smashed his maiden ODI hundred. His knock of 114 helped Pakistan put on a massive total on the board.

Advertisement

Team India succumbed under pressure to lose by 180 runs. Interestingly, Fakhar Zaman had rode his luck on the day. Very early in his innings, when he was batting on 3, he had edged one to the wicket keeper off the bowling of Jasprit Bumrah. The Indians started celebrating and Zaman was heading back to the pavilion. It was just then that the on-field umpire asked him to stay back as he wanted to check the bowler’s front foot.

The replays suggested that Jasprit Bumrah had overstepped and Zaman got a lucky breakthrough. He made the most out of the let off that he got and plundered runs at will. A brilliant ton followed and that set up the tone for a mammoth score.

Shadab Khan gives an interesting statement

Now, his team mate Shadab Khan revealed that before the Champions Trophy finals, Fakhar had told him about dreaming of getting out on a no ball. A renowned Pakistani journalist tweeted about the same when he wrote, “Shadab Khan “Fakhar Zaman told me before the Champions Trophy final that he had dreamt about being out on a no-ball” #INDvPAK #CT17″.

Advertisement