'Find the pictures to suit your narrative' - Simon Doull and Shane Warne get involved in a debate over Kohli's dismissal in Mumbai Test

‘Find the pictures to suit your narrative’ – Simon Doull and Shane Warne get involved in a debate over Kohli’s dismissal in Mumbai Test

Virat Kohli was given out in a close bat-pad call in India's first innings of the Mumbai Test.

Shane Warne and Simon Doull
Shane Warne and Simon Doull. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

The second Test match between India and New Zealand has been quite an eventful affair so far. However, the dismissal of Virat Kohli on Friday, December 3 is something that has intrigued the cricketing fraternity. It fumed many debates across the social media platforms and the latest to get involved in one is Simon Doull and Shane Warne.

Kohli was given out on Day one of the Mumbai Test in what was a tough decision to make. The batter had gone upstairs to review the decision and from the replays, it wasn’t quite clear if the ball had hit the bat or the pad first. As the third umpire couldn’t get conclusive evidence, the call of staying with the on-field umpire’s decision was taken.

This meant that Kohli had to depart for a duck. This did not go quite well with the batter and quite a few on-lookers as well. The former Australian cricketer Shane Warne however remained critical of the third umpire’s decision. He took it to his official Twitter account and reckoned that interpreting technology correctly will assist in taking the right decisions in cricket.

Shane Warne and Simon Doull on Virat Kohli’s dismissal 

“This is simply – not out! We often discuss technology & its use/accuracy. The main problem@is the interpretation of the technology. Here’s a perfect example of the ball clearly hitting the edge of the bat first,” Warne’s Tweet read.

Doull was however quick enough to voice his opinion on the same. He replied to Warne’s Tweet and said that using images to suit the narrative should not be encouraged.

“It’s a clear indication of find the pictures to suit your narrative is all that is. In the side view, the bat has not reached the ball by the time the ball reaches the pad so therefore it’s safe to say hitting the pad first as it’s directly in the same line did happen first. #simple,” Doull wrote in the reply.

Doull replied to another Twitter user as well who claimed that the former New Zealand cricketer was replying to suit his narrative. Replying to the user, Doull wrote, “I am replying to say the umpire had no choice but to uphold the on-field decision is all I am saying. No choice at all. The process was followed to the Law and the result remains.”