'Give your best' - Vinod Kambli tells Prithvi Shaw

‘Give your best’ – Vinod Kambli tells Prithvi Shaw

Many hailed selectors decision to bring the Mumbai youngster Prithvi Shaw in the Test squad.

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw of India A. (Photo by Harry Trump/Getty Images)

MSK Prasad-led selection panel made two interesting changes in the Indian Test squad by bringing in the in-form youngster Prithvi Shaw and the promising Andhra skipper Hanuma Vihari. The selectors axed the out of touch opening batsman Murali Vijay and the chinaman Kuldeep Yadav for the last two Tests.

Prithvi Shaw’s recent outings against Windies A, England Lions and South Africa A are enough to give him a chance in the Indian national side. The 18-year-old averages 56.72 in first-class cricket with seven centuries and five half-centuries. He scored 188 against Windies A, 68 against England Lions and 136 against South Africa A recently.

The young opening batsman became popular even before winning the U19 World Cup for the Indian team earlier this year. He registered a century on his Ranji debut and scored a century on Duleep Trophy debut. He became the youngest player to score a century on debut in Duleep Trophy, going past Sachin Tendulkar.

Many hailed selectors decision to bring the Mumbai youngster Prithvi Shaw in the Test squad. One among them is the former Indian cricketer Vinod Kambli. He took to Twitter to show his happiness at Shaw’s selection. His tweet read, “It’s a great opportunity for you my friend, @PrithviShaw Enjoy the game and give your best.. All the best.”

Hanuma Vihari gets a chance

Among the active players in the world, Hanuma Vihari’s average of 59.79 in first-class is the highest (min 50 games). This stat will surely tempt selectors to keep his name on the selection list. However, the Andhra skipper Vihari might not get a chance in the Southampton Test as the Indian current middle-order looked settled in the Trent Bridge Test, which India won convincingly.

Indian Test squad for last two Tests: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Karun Nair, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Hanuma Vihari