Harbhajan Singh picks his all-time T20 XI; MS Dhoni to lead

Harbhajan picked four cricketers from the West Indies.

Harbhajan Singh
Harbhajan Singh. (Photo Source: Instagram)

View : 33.5K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Veteran Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh has picked MS Dhoni as the skipper in his all-time T20 XI. The now 40-year-old Dhoni started his T20 career, guiding Team India to glory in the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in South Africa. Thereafter, he helped Chennai Super Kings win the Indian Premier League four times and the Champions League T20 a couple of times as well.

As his openers, Harbhajan picked India’s Rohit Sharma and West Indies’ Chris Gayle. For the No.3 slot, the Turbanator went for England’s Jos Buttler. He said that the Brits’ batter is reliable and has the ability to dictate terms after getting set.

“He is a very reliable batter and someone who can control the game once he gets set,” Harbhajan was quoted as saying in Sportskeeda.

Harbhajan Singh opines

At No.4, Harbhajan picked Shane Watson, who retired from all forms of cricket in November 2020. Back in 2016 after the World T20 in India, Watson bid adieu to international cricket. Harbhajan said that Watson had the potential to put in all-round performances and help his team win matches.

“Being an all-rounder, he has won many matches through his batting ability and has won games with the ball as well,” he stated.

Harbhajan went for South Africa’s AB de Villiers, India’s Dhoni, West Indies’ Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard at No.5, 6, 7 and 8 respectively. The veteran said that Pollard could also be slotted up the order if the situation demands so.

“The batting order can be altered and Pollard could be moved up and down the order depending on the needs of the side. Any T20 team is incomplete without Pollard,” Harbhajan added.

He also picked the wily Sunil Narine, who has plied his trade in numerous T20 leagues around the world. Harbhajan went for Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah as his two specialist fast bowlers.

Malinga is the leading wicket-taker in the history of the IPL, having racked up 170 wickets at an economy rate of 7.14. Bumrah, on the other hand, is the fulcrum of India’s bowling attack across formats.

Harbhajan’s T20 XI 

Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Jos Buttler, Shane Watson, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (c &wk), Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah