'I would like Suryakumar Yadav to continue as opener' - Danish Kaneria gives his view on India's top-order conundrum

Suryakumar Yadav has done exceptionally well while opening the batting for Indian and provides another dimension to the team.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Photo Source: Twitter/BCCI)

View : 100

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Defending champions of Asia Cup, India recently announced their squad for the continental tournament and while opener KL Rahul makes his much-anticipated return to the team, former Pakistani cricketer Danish Kaneria reckons Suryakumar Yadav should open the innings along with Rohit Shamra instead of Rahul.

The Asia Cup is just over a fortnight away as the subcontinent heavyweights gear up to test their squad in a potential litmus test for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia later this year. India are likely to go with the tried and tested opening pair of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, who will be playing together for the first time since February.

Former Pakistani spinner Danish Kaneria had a different take on Rahul’s inclusion in the squad and suggested that Indian should keep opening with Suryakumar Yadav, who scored 24, 11, 76, and 24 in the recently concluded Windies series opening the batting for the team. Kaneria highlighted Surya’s terrific partnership with skipper Rohit and stated that Rahul should bat in the middle-order, something he has done previously.

“With Rohit Sharma, I would like Suryakumar Yadav to continue as opener. His consistency with Rohit has been brilliant as an opener. KL Rahul is coming back into the team. I want him to stay down order. He has batted in different situations, and he has scored runs in all situations as well. So, I want Surya and Rohit to open,” Danish Kaneria said in a video on his YouTube channel.

KL Rahul to lead the Indian team in the series against Zimbabwe

KL Rahul has been designated as the skipper for a much-changed Indian side for the ODI series against Zimbabwe, leading up to the Asia Cup in UAE later this month. Notably, the flamboyant opener was scheduled to return for the Caribbean series following a lengthy spell on the sidelines, recovering from a sports hernia surgery at the NCA in Bangalore, but due to a Covid-19 infection, his much-awaited return to the Indian team was delayed.

India’s squad for Zimbabwe: KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.