ICC releases contenders list for the player awards, Virat Kohli nominated in three categories

The other Indian players who have been nominated for the ICC awards are Kuldeep Yadav and Rohit Sharma.

Virat Kohli hundred
Indian skipper Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Centurion Test may have been lost but there is some good news for Virat Kohli. The Indian skipper has been nominated in three categories for the International Cricket Council (ICC) annual awards for the year 2017 are scheduled to be announced tomorrow (January 18, 2018).

Kohli who had a phenomenal year with the bat and as captain in 2017 across all the three formats features amongst the nominees for the ODI Player of the year, Test Player of the year as well as the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for the ICC Cricketer of the Year. He previously won the ODI Player of the year award back in 2012. He’s expected to compete with England captain Joe Root, Hasan Ali and Rashid Khan for the same this year.


The other Indian players who earned nominations for the ICC awards are Kuldeep Yadav and Rohit Sharma. The left-arm chinaman bowler has been nominated in the Emerging player of the year category. On the other hand, Rohits fastest hundred is amongst the T20I Performances of the Year.

Golden age of batsmanship with Smith, Kohli, Williamson and Root

The Cricketer Of The Year is regarded as the most coveted awards. While Steve Smith won the honour in 2015, it was Ravichandran Ashwin who staked his claim on it in 2016. This time around, the ICC stated that there was a significant competition for the same.

“A strong list of candidates are in contention for the most coveted award of them all in 2017, and the names listed above look set to dominate again – we are witnessing a golden age of batsmanship, with Smith, Kohli, Williamson and Root vying for the title of the world’s No.1 batsman.” as quoted by the IBT.

Contenders For The ICC Awards

The ICC released a list of players who were contenders to receive awards.

Emerging Player Of The Year

Shadab Khan

Hasan Ali

Kuldeep Yadav

Dawid Malan


ODI Player Of The Year

Virat Kohli

Hasan Ali

Rashid Khan

Joe Root


Test Player Of The Year 

Steve Smith

Virat Kohli

Kane Williamson

Kagiso Rabada

James Andeson

Nathan Lyon


T20I Performance Of The Year

Rashid Khan’s 5/3 against Ireland

Asela Gunaratne’s 84(46)* against Australia

Yuzvendra Chahal’s 6/25 against England

Evin Lewis’ 125(62)* against India

Rohit Sharma’s 118(43)* against Sri Lanka