ICC World Cup 2019: 10 legends of the game who never won the trophy

Some writers often describe the trophy to be unlucky to not get wrapped in the hands of some cricketers and honestly, it is not completely exaggerated.

2. Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid
Rahul Dravid. (Photo credit should read Alessandro Abbonizio/AFP/Getty Images)

Rahul Dravid was rightly inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame last year and his contribution can never be summed up with mere poetic words. If ever anyone came close to aptly describe him, it was Harsha Bhogle, who famously termed Dravid as “The wolf who lived for the pack”. He spent a lifetime in the middle holding the ground whilst his teammates kept attacking knowing that there is “Wall” which can never be breached.

Rahul Dravid was the highest run-scorer of the tournament in his first ever World Cup in 1999. He later represented the side 2003 where Australia humiliated India in the finals and was, unfortunately, the captain of the 2007 side which produced India’s worst ever World Cup result. Despite all the mountains he scaled, this was one Everest which always remained far from his reach.


Page 2 / 10