ICC World Cup 2019: Final, New Zealand vs England – A rare ODI Tie, Stokes’ effort and more stats

ICC World Cup 2019: Final, New Zealand vs England – A rare ODI Tie, Stokes’ effort and more stats

All the statistical highlights from the thrilling World Cup final where England won the crown!

Ben Stokes New Zealand
Ben Stokes. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

England emerged as new World Cup champions by edging out New Zealand in a dramatic final that ended in a Tie. The SuperOver played to decide the winner also ended in a Tie with both teams scoring 15 runs. However, England hit 26 boundaries including two in the SuperOver while the Kiwis hit only 17. Earlier, New Zealand posted 241/8 in their 50 overs after electing to bat first. England were reduced to 86/4 before Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler reduced them with half-centuries. The game got tense after Buttler’s dismissal but Stokes stood strong and ensured the game at least ended in a Tie.

All the statistical highlights from the thrilling World Cup final which saw England come out victorious:

A rare Tie in the history:

1 – For the first time in ODI history, a Super Over was played to decide the winner. This was 40th ODI match that ended in a Tie while the previous 39 Tied ODIs either remained as a Tie or the winner was decided based on wicket lost and countback rules.

3 – This was only the 3rd tournament final in the ODI formal that ended in a Tie. The 1984 Bensons & Hedges World Series Cup final between Australia and Windies was the first such one. England and Australia were involved in the Tied final during the 2005 NatWest Series also hosted by Lord’s.

England ends their wait:

3 – For the 3rd consecutive time, the home team ended up as winners of the World Cup. None of the first nine World Cups were won by the host nation.

3 – Number of matches England has lost in this World Cup; the most by any team in a World Cup they won. Pakistan also lost three matches during their triumph in the 1992 World Cup.

2 – England is only the 2nd country to hold the Men’s and Women’s ODI World Cups simultaneously. Australia were the first such side as they won Men’s and Women’s ODI World Cups simultaneously in four different periods.

Stokes joins Sachin and Rohit:

5 – Ben Stokes has as many as five scores of 75 and more in this World Cup; the joint-most by any player in a World Cup edition. Sachin Tendulkar in 2003 edition and Rohit Sharma also in 2019 had five scores over 75 in a World Cup. In fact, no player has scored five 75+ scores in any other ODI series/tournament.

8 – Ben Stokes became only the 8th player to score 400+ runs and take 5+ wickets in a World Cup edition. Stokes scored 465 runs and took 9 wickets in this tournament. He is also the first player from England with this double in any ODI tournament/series.

The record stand to England’s survival:

110 – The 5th wicket stand between Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes is only the 2nd century stand for the 5th and lower wicket in a World Cup final. Sir Viv Richards and Collis King added 139 runs for also for the 5th wicket in the 1979 edition against England.

Williamson goes past Mahela:

578 – Kane Williamson’s 578 runs in the tournament are the most by any player as a captain in a World Cup. He surpassed Mahela Jayawardene’s 548 runs scored during the 2007 edition. Both Williamson and Mahela were tied on 548 runs prior to this game but Kane scored 30 in the final.

2 – Kane Williamson is only the 2nd New Zealand player and only the 2nd captain to win the player of the tournament award in the World Cup. The then New Zealand skipper Martin Crowe in 1992 was the first such player to win the tournament award in World Cup.

Latham levels Gilchrist:

21 – Number of catches Tom Latham has taken in this tournament; the joint-most by any keeper in a World Cup. Latham levelled Adam Gilchrist who also took 21 catches in the 2007 edition. Both Latham and Gilchrist affected 21 dismissals (0 stumpings) in those two editions and are the most by any keeper in a World Cup.

Bairstow ends on high:

532 – Jonny Bairstow became the first player to score 500+ runs in the debut World Cup. Prior to this edition, Rahul Dravid’s 461 runs in 1999 edition were the most runs scored by any player in debut World Cup. Babar Azam (474) and Ben Stokes (465) also went past Dravid’s total in their maiden World Cup this year.

A tournament of wicket-takers:

21 – Lockie Ferguson has taken 21 wickets in this tournament; the 2nd most for New Zealand in a World Cup. Trent Boult claimed 22 wickets during the 2015 edition who also played only nine matches like Ferguson this year.

16 – Ian Botham’s 16 wickets in the 1992 CWC were the most wickets taken by a bowler in a World Cup for England prior to this tournament. Jofra Archer took 20 wickets while Mark Wood and Chris Woakes finished with 18 and 16 wickets respectively.