India U23 squad for One-Day series against Bangladesh U23 announced

India U23 squad for One-Day series against Bangladesh U23 announced

Priyam Garg has been appointed as the captain of the team.

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh. (Photo Source: First Post)

The All-India Junior Selection Committee has picked the India U23 squad for the upcoming five-match one-day series against Bangladesh U23 to be played in Raipur. The series is set to get underway on Thursday, September 19 and is scheduled to continue until Friday, September 27. The 15-man squad will be captained by right-handed batsman Priyam Garg.

Garg was recently the skipper of the India U19 team in the One-Day tri-series in England, involving the hosts as well as Bangladesh. He had a good time as India U19 defeated Bangladesh U19 in the final by six wickets at the County Ground in Hove. The 18-year-old was a consistent performer for his team, having scored 289 runs in six matches at an average of 57.8.

Arshdeep and Brar have already played the IPL

His top score of 100 not out came against Bangladesh U19 in Worcester. The knock helped India to a 35-run victory. In the last matches of the series, he came up with scores of 51 and 73. Garg is currently busy plying his trade in the Duleep Trophy, representing the India Green. At a tender age, Priyam already has an experience of 10 first-class, six List-A and 11 T20s.

Left-handed batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal is also a part of the squad. He was also a part of the series in England. Jaiswal has been one of the leading run-scorers for India U19 in the last one year. Harpreet Brar and Arshdeep Singh, both of whom were a part of the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the last edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) have also been included in the squad.

Aryan Juyal, the 17-year-old batsman from Madhya Pradesh, who has previously led the U19 team, has made the cut as well. Kartik Tyagi, the right-arm fast bowler, and Shubhang Hegde were part of the U19 team as well. The duo will be a part of the U23 team now.

Here is the India U23 squad:

Priyam Garg (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Madhav Kaushik, B R Sharath (wicket-keeper), Samarth Vyas, Aryan Juyal (wicket-keeper), Ritwik Roy Choudhary, Kumar Suraj, Atit Seth, Shubhang Hegde, Hrithik Shokeen, Dhrushant Soni, Arshdeep Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Harpreet Brar

List of Virat Kohli’s ridiculously expensive assets