India v New Zealand, 2017: 1st ODI – Statistical Highlights

Here we look at all the stats and records created during the game.

Ross Taylor
Ross Taylor. (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Zealand were successful at making a positive start in the 3-match ODI series as they defeated India by six wickets in the first ODI at the Wankhede. Indian captain Virat Kohli became only the 2nd player to score a century in 200th ODI game after AB de Villiers with a brilliant 121-run knock to help his side to end up with 281/8. The Ross Taylor and Tom Latham pair took the game away from India as they put on a 200-run stand for the 4th wicket after they were three down for 80.

Here we look at all the stats and records created during the game.

2 – This game is only the 2nd instance of India winning the toss in an ODI game in the last 20 years at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. They won the toss against South Africa in an ODI in November 2005. The last time they batted first in an ODI at this venue was way back in May 1997 against Sri Lanka which they lost by five wickets.


3 – Hardik Pandya became only the 3rd Indian to score 500+ runs and take 25+ wickets in the same calendar year in ODI cricket. Kapil Dev did the feat in 1983 and 1986 while Robin Singh bagged this ODI double in 1997.

17 – Number of innings Virat Kohli needed for completing 1000 runs in ODI cricket against New Zealand. He is the quickest to score 1000 ODI runs against New Zealand. Dean Jones (19 innings) was the previous fastest to this milestone.

31 – Virat Kohli now has the 2nd most number of centuries in ODI cricket as he went past Ricky Ponting (31) and stands only behind Sachin Tendulkar (49).

121 – The century from Virat Kohli is the first of his 13 ODI centuries at home in losing cause. The previous highest score in ODIs by Kohli at home in losing cause was 99 against Windies in 2013.

200 – The 200-run partnership between Tom Latham and Ross Taylor is the 4th highest for any wicket by any team while chasing against India in ODIs. This is also the highest stand for any wicket by New Zealand against India surpassing the 190-run stand between Scott Styris and Ross Taylor also for the 4th wicket in 2010.

200 – Latham and Taylor’s 200-run stand is the 6th double century stand for any wicket for New Zealand in ODI cricket and also the first for the 4th wicket. The previous highest ODI stand for the 4th wicket for the Kiwis was 191 between Jesse Ryder and Corey Anderson against Windies in 2014.

281 – The target of 281 successful chased down by New Zealand in this game is their highest in ODIs against India. Their previous highest successful chase against India was 279 at Hamilton in 2014.

281 – New Zealand’s successful run-chase of 281 is the highest for any team in ODIs at the Wankhede. The previous highest successful chase for any side in ODIs at this venue is 275 by India against Sri Lanka in the 2011 World Cup.

2004 – The last instance of an Indian before Virat Kohli scoring a century in ODI cricket with the 2nd highest score being 37 or lower in the innings was Sachin Tendulkar in 2004. Against Pakistan at Rawalpindi, Sachin scored 141 with the 2nd highest being 36 by Rahul Dravid.  India’s 2nd highest score in this game came from Dinesh Karthik, who scored 37.

2013 – The last instance of India losing a home ODI while batting first was in 2013 against Windies at Vizag. They won in their previous ten ODIs while batting first at home.