India vs Bangladesh: BCCI announces the squads for the T20I and Test series

India vs Bangladesh: BCCI announces the squads for the T20I and Test series

Virat Kohli has been rested for the T20I series; Rohit Sharma to lead.

Indian team
Indian team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s T20I squad for the upcoming T20I series against Bangladesh. As expected, Sanju Samson and Shivam Dube have earned call-ups with this being the comeback for the former after a four-year-long wait. Rishabh Pant has also been picked amidst all the criticism and it will be interesting to see if both him and Samson will get a chance in the playing XI during the series.

The regular skipper Virat Kohli has been rested as Rohit Sharma will take charge as the captain for this series. Not many changes have been made to the group which faced South Africa in September. Kuldeep Yadav continues to stay out of the team with Rahul Chahar likely to get more chances in the near future to prove his mettle.

Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey have also been retained for the T20I series. The former gave a good account of himself against South Africa and is once again likely to play ahead of Pandey again. Shivam Dube has replaced Hardik Pandya and is likely to play all the three matches as the selectors look to create a back up for the latter.

Both Samson and Dube sizzled in the Vijay Hazare Trophy playing timely knocks for their respective teams and were rewarded for the same. Ravindra Jadeja and Navdeep Saini are not the part of the T20I squad with Yuzvendra Chahal and Shardul Thakur replacing them. The three-match T20I series will commence on November 3 in Delhi with the other two matches to be played in Rajkot and Nagpur on November 7 and 10 respectively.

India leave out Nadeem from Tests

Meanwhile, the squad for the two-match Test series has also been announced. Shahbaz Nadeem has been left out as Kuldeep Yadav returns. India defeated South Africa 3-0 in the recently concluded series and there was no need to change anything. The two-match Test series will commence on November 14 in Indore with the second Test scheduled to play at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

India T20I squad: Rohit Sharma(Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Saha (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant.

[interaction id=”5daf083de7754a6309b4cf55″]