India vs New Zealand: Kane Williamson to miss T20I series, Tim Southee to lead

Williamson will be focusing on the upcoming Test series against India.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson. (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

View : 72.7K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson is set to miss the three-match T20I series against India. He led the team to the final of the T20 World Cup which concluded on November 14. The Kiwis lost to Australia by eight wickets in the final but the game was also remembered for Williamson’s majestic batting performance where he made 85 runs off 48 deliveries with 10 fours and three sixes.

The international schedule is such nowadays that New Zealand have reached India and will be playing the first T20I of the three-match series on November 17, only three days after the World Cup final. They are also set to face India in two Tests which are also the part of the World Test Championship. Kane Williamson and his men will be starting their campaign of the new WTC cycle after winning the inaugural edition beating India in the final.

Meanwhile, NZC confirmed that Kane Williamson is missing the T20I series in order to concentrate on the upcoming Test series. India have been exceptional at home in the longest format of the game and the Kiwi captain would want to be fresh for the crucial contest starting on November 25.

Kane Williamson struggling with elbow injury as well

Moreover, Kane Williamson has been managing his elbow injury for a long time now. The injury flared up during the World Cup as well.; But he kept playing and could be looking to rest it up a little bit during the T20I series as well now. Pace bowler Tim Southee will be leading New Zealand in the T20Is now with 14 players available for visitors to pick up from.

They have lost Devon Conway to a hand injury who also didn’t play the final of the T20 World Cup. Interestingly, Lockie Ferguson didn’t play the World Cup due to injury but it has been told that he is recovering well and is expected to be available.

New Zealand squad for T20I series against India: Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee