India vs South Africa: BCCI announces 15-man squad for the Test series

India vs South Africa: BCCI announces 15-man squad for the Test series

Rohit Sharma is likely to open the innings while Gill also got the call-up.

Indian team
Indian team. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

India will soon embark on its home season with the three-match T20I series against South Africa. Both the teams will then lock horns in three Test matches starting from October 2 and the BCCI has announced the 15-man squad for the same. As expected, KL Rahul has been left out after consistent low scores in the whites while Shubman Gill has earned his maiden call-up.

The youngster did extremely well in the West Indies while playing for India A. He scored an unbeaten double century in one of the games as well and then carried on his good form against South Africa A at home. A lot was said after Rohit Sharma wasn’t included in the side for the West Indies Tests and his career was also in doldrums after Hanuma Vihari prospering.

But the selectors have decided to retain Rohit and according to MSK Prasad, he might even open the innings along with Mayank Agarwal against South Africa. This could be the last opportunity for India’s limited-overs vice-captain to prove his mettle in the longer format and all eyes will be on him.

The rest of the squad is same with Umesh Yadav missing out from the team which toured West Indies. However, he has been included in the Board President’s XI which will play a tour game against the visiting Proteas side. Interestingly, Rohit Sharma has been named the skipper of this side.

Easwaran and Panchal not included

Abhimanyu Easwaran and Priyank Panchal would feel hard done as they weren’t picked yet again in the national side. Though the duo will feature in the tour game which makes it clear that they are in the plans and just need to keep scoring runs to break into the international arena.

The first Test is scheduled to be played on October 2 in Visakhapatnam while the other two matches will take place in Pune and Ranchi.

India squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill.

Board President’s XI: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, AR Easwaran, Karun Nair, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Jalaj Saxena, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Avesh Khan, Ishan Porel, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav

Watch – 10 Expensive cars owned by Indian cricketers