India vs Windies, 2018: 1st T20I – Statistical Highlights

India vs Windies, 2018: 1st T20I – Statistical Highlights

All the key stats and numbers that were recorded during the low-scoring T20I in Kolkata.

Rohit Sharma and Kuldeep Yadav
Rohit Sharma and Kuldeep Yadav. (Photo Source: Twitter)

In a rare low-scoring game at the Eden Gardens, India edged out the Windies after restricting them to just 109/8 in the 20 overs. India’s left-arm trio of Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya and Khaleel Ahmed ended up conceding only 44 runs across 12 overs. India too struggled in the chase losing early wickets as they were reduced to 45/4 by 8th over. Dinesh Karthik stayed till the end to take India past the line with crucial partnerships with Manish Pandey and Krunal.

All the key stats and numbers that were recorded during the low-scoring T20I in Kolkata:

1 – This T20I is the first for India at home without MS Dhoni in the playing XI. He featured in all the 31 T20Is that the team played in India prior to this game.

This T20I is also the first for both Kieron Pollard and Umesh Yadav in India. Pollard featured in 147 Twenty20 matches in India prior to his series while Umesh appeared in 118 T20s.

3Krunal Pandya is only the 3rd player to score over 20 runs at a strike-rate of 200+ and concede 16 or fewer runs bowling four overs in the same T20I. Abdul Razzaq in the 2010 Christchurch T20I against New Zealand and Shahid Afridi in the 2015 Dubai T20I against England were other two players with this rare double.

3 – Debutants Krunal Pandya, Khaleel Ahmed and Khary Pierre conceded 16 and fewer runs in this game. This is the first time three debutants conceded at an economy of 4 or less in the same T20I. (4+ overs)

3 – Only three players before Krunal Pandya (15) and Khaleel Ahmed (16) have conceded fewer runs for India during their T20I debut after bowling four overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar registered figures of 3/9 in the 2012 Bangalore T20I against Pakistan while Barinder Sran gave away ten runs for his four-wicket haul in 2016 against Zimbabwe. Zaheer Khan also gave away only 15 runs during India’s maiden T20I in 2006.

9Rohit Sharma‘s nine wins as captain after first ten T20Is are the most for any player. Shoaib Malik, Michael Clarke, Asghar Afghan and Sarfraz Ahmed won eight of their first ten T20Is as captain while David Warner won eight of the nine T20Is in which he led Australia.

53.84 – Kieron Pollard’s batting strike during his 26-ball 14. This is the 3rd lowest strike-rate in a T20I inning of 25+ balls for the Windies. Dwayne Smith struck at 37.93 during his 29-ball 11 against India in the 2014 WT20 while Pollard himself made 14 off 27 at an S/R of 51.85 during last year’s T20I against Pakistan. Pollard’s strike-rate in this game is also the lowest for any player in a T20I inning of 25+ balls in which a player hit a six.

75 – Kuldeep Yadav completed 100 wickets in Twenty20 cricket in only 75 matches. He is the joint-quickest among Indian players in terms of matches taken. Amit Mishra also needed 75 matches for completing 100 T20 wickets. Kuldeep bowled in 74 innings for 100 wickets while Mishra bowled in 75 by the time of his milestone.