India vs Windies: BCCI announces the 14-man squad for the first two ODIs

The ODI series starts from October 21.

Indian team
Indian team. (Photo Source: Tharaka Basnayaka/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Team India and Windies will be locking horns in the five-match ODI series after the conclusion of the ongoing Test series. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 14-man squad for the first two ODIs. Rishabh Pant, as expected, has made a comeback to the squad while Dinesh Karthik has lost his place after a few middling scores in the Asia Cup while batting at number four.

The Indian captain Virat Kohli has not been rested and he will continue to lead the side. Interestingly, the selectors have decided to rest Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah who were also not picked for the Test series. Their workload is being monitored carefully it seems and they are being reserved for the upcoming Australia series. Mohammed Shami has also earned a recall in the pace bowling department and Khaleel Ahmed continues to stay with the team after an impressive debut in the Asia Cup.


Pandey and Rayudu retain their place

As far as the batting order is concerned, Team India is likely to persist with Ambati Rayudu for the number four position. He looked in good touch and made the most of the opportunity presented in the Asia Cup last month. Also, Manish Pandey continues to stay in the squad following the only outing in the multi-nation event in September.

It will be interesting to see where Rishabh Pant will bat as his exploits in the longer format has earned him a place in the ODI side and should make his debut if the selectors are interested in testing his ability now. It also remains to be seen if Kohli will be rested after the first couple of matches.

India squad for first two ODIs: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant, R Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.