Indian batsman named in Mumbai's camp for upcoming season

Indian batsman named in Mumbai’s camp for upcoming season

Ajinkya Rahane is also a part of the camp.

England v India - 1st ODI: Royal London One-Day Series
Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

Rohit Sharma has had a topsy-turvy stint in the United Kingdom (UK). He commenced his campaign with a swashbuckling knock of 97 runs against Ireland at the Malahide Cricket Ground in Dublin. Thereafter, the right-hander floundered in the next few matches. However, he came into his own in the third and final T20I against England at County Ground in Bristol with his third century in the shortest format.

He followed it up with his 18th ODI ton against the Brits at Trent Bridge in Nottingham. He couldn’t stand up in the last two contests at Leeds and Headingley respectively. To add to his agony, he was also not drafted in the squad for the upcoming Test series against the Three Lions. The 31-year-old played his last match in Whites earlier this year against South Africa.

A massive inclusion for Mumbai

Recently, it has been learned that the seasoned campaigner has been named in Mumbai’s off-season camp for the upcoming domestic season as per reports in Times Now. The Indian opener is expected to attend the camp as he isn’t a part of the Test squad. Ajinkya Rahane is also a part of the camp, but he won’t be able to attend the same owing to national team commitments on English soil.

The likes of Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Prithvi Shaw and a number of bright talents have also been roped in for the rigorous sessions. Meanwhile, Rohit is expected to play a major role in Mumbai’s domestic season provided he stays free from international matches during that period. The Ranji Trophy generally takes place from October-November and carries on till January-February.

Here is the whole list of players

Aditya Tare, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Dhaval Kulkarni, Shardul Thakur, Suryakumar Yadav, Akhil Herwadkar, Tushar Deshpande, Jay Bista, Arman Jaffer, Roystan Dias, Prithvi Shaw, Shivam Malhotra, Shivam Dubey, Siddhesh Lad, Eknath Kerkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Shreyas Iyer, Akash Parkar, Ashay Sardesai, Vijay Gohil, Harshal Soni, Badrey Alam, Siddharth Raut, Sagar Trivedi, Shams Mulani, Karsh Kothari.

[interaction id=”5b4efcfc96df427c23b00a17″]

For more news and developments, stay tuned on