Indian cricketers celebrate the series win over Australia

Indian cricketers celebrate the series win over Australia

Players took to social media to express their delight over the series win.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli poses with the series trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India defeated Australia in the fifth and final ODI of the series by 7 wickets and also clinched the series by 4-1 in Nagpur. Men in Blue cantered to a chase of 243 which Australia had set in front of them after winning the toss. Rohit Sharma continued his affair with the visitors and scored a scintillating ton to become the highest run-getter of the series. Ajinkya Rahane too was excellent throughout and scored 4 consecutive half-centuries after failing in the first game. Despite Virat Kohli having an average series with the bat, the hosts dominated with every player stepping up when needed.

Australia, on the other hand, failed to capitalise on the key moments and always squandered a comfortable position. The bowlers led by Nathan Coulter-Nile bowled their hearts out but the backup seamers and the spinners were not at all good enough to trouble the Men in Blue. Steve Smith, himself was poor with the bat as he threw his wicket away after getting in most of the times. The wrist spinning duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal bamboozled them and they had no answers whatsoever.

Virat Kohli proud of the team

Indian cricketers celebrated the series victory on Sunday night as India perched at the top of ICC rankings in One-Day Internationals. They took to social media to express their delight over the win and let their followers know about their happiness. The message of the skipper on Twitter read, “Proud of the whole team and the management for taking us to No.1. Good series win!” Hardik Pandya earned his first ever Man of the Series award since his debut in 2016 and didn’t miss out on an opportunity to click a picture with MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav. He posted, “We got many reasons to smile & so does India. Proud feeling!”

Rahane too was thrilled at the moment like his mates Rohit and Jasprit Bumrah and posted the celebration pictures on Instagram. India will now lock horns with the Aussies in the 3-match T20I series which will commence from Saturday. New Zealand will then arrive for the 3 ODIs and as many T20 Internationals as the mega home season continues.

This is how the players celebrated on social media: