Indian Premier League Year-wise records

We take a look at what has taken place each year in the IPL in terms of numbers.

View : 5.8K

14 Min Read

IPL 6: 2013 (April 3-May 26) Champions – Mumbai Indians

IPL 2013 champions
IPL 2013 champions. (Photo Source: The Indian Express)

MI won their first title this year under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. They beat Dhoni’s CSK by 23 runs in the final played in Kolkata. PepsiCo replaced DLF as the sponsors of the IPL from this season onwards while DC stood to be the second team to be terminated from the tournament. DC was replaced by another Hyderabad-based franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

Highest scorer: CSK’s Michael Hussey was the top scorer in this edition, amassing 733 runs from 17 innings at an average of 52.35. Hussey beat Gayle by just 25 runs to stop him from becoming the highest scorer for the third season on the trot.

Highest wicket-taker: CSK’s Caribbean all-rounder Dwayne Bravo bagged the most number of wickets (32 in 18 innings) in this edition with the best bowling figure of 4 for 42.

Most number of sixes: It was Gayle yet again with 51 sixes in 16 innings. Kieron Pollard was a distant second with 29 maximum shots.

Highest individual score: Gayle’s 175 not out off 66 balls against PWI in Bengaluru continues to be the most incredible innings the IPL has seen, bettering McCullum’s 158 not out scored in 2008.

Best bowling figure: RR’s James Faulkner took 5 for 16 against Sunrisers Hyderabad and it happened to be the best individual show with the ball.

Best bowling average: RCB’s Zaheer Khan registered a bowling average of 9.40 in two matches and it was the best bowling average in this edition.

Highest team score: RCB’s 263 for 5 in 20 overs against PWI. It happens to be the joint highest score (along with Australia) in not only IPL but in any T20 game played ever.

Lowest team score: CSK’s 79 against MI in Mumbai.

Biggest victory (by runs): RCB beat PWI by 130 runs in Bengaluru.

Smallest victory (by runs): RCB beat MI by 2 runs in Bengaluru.

Player of the series: RR’s Shane Watson was picked the player of the series and he is the only player to have won the honours twice in the tournament.

Page6 / 10

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store