Indian T20 League 2019, Final: Mumbai v Chennai - 11wickets Fantasy Cricket League – Team News & Playing XI

Indian T20 League 2019, Final: Mumbai v Chennai – 11wickets Fantasy Cricket League – Team News & Playing XI

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad will host the finale on Sunday 7:30 PM IST May 12.

Jayant Yadav
Jayant Yadav. (Photo: IANS)

We are finally at the stage in the Indian T20 League 2019 which we all were waiting. The Indian T20 League 2019 final is here, and the top 2 teams from the league stages will be competing for the biggest T20 prize in world cricket. Mumbai took the direct route of getting to the finals by winning a thriller against the Chennai in the first qualifier. That result meant that the Chennai had to beat a spirited young Delhi team yesterday at the second qualifier.

Both Chennai and Mumbai are set to lock horns and take hold of the trophy for the 4th time. The defending champions, Chennai, will win a second time in a row if they win this season. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad will host the finale on Sunday 7:30 PM IST May 12. Look on at the statistics which can help you to pick your 11wickets Fantasy Cricket XI.

Venue Details:

At the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium wicket is considered as a flat track. It tends to slow down as any match progresses. The pitch has been famous for being batsman-friendly and high scoring. Also, the spinners will enjoy bowling here more than the Pacers.


Strangely, Mumbai didn’t have a slow start this year. They were always within the top four teams of the tournament and continued their consistency throughout the season. The team has won 10 matches out of the 15 played, and their appearance in the finale against Chennai will be the 16th match for them this season.

The primary reason for such performances has been the two men of their batting line-up. The first one is Quinton de Kock who has smashed numerous fifties in the league matches to the playoffs, and the other one is arguably the best young talent Hardik Pandya. Pandya has been brilliant this year in both the departments of the game. Apart from these two, however, their batting has lacked stability with their middle-order being chopped and changed often during the season.

Mumbai have already beaten Chennai at the first qualifier. Hence, they will draw confidence from the kind of performance they produced with Chennai.

Players to choose from

Rohit Sharma (C), Jason Behrendorff, Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Cutting, Alzarri Joseph, Beuran Hendricks, Pankaj Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan, Evin Lewis, Siddhesh Lad, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Markande, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Salam, Aditya Tare, Barinder Sran, Suryakumar Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Yuvraj Singh


Chennai has been another consistent team of the IPL T20 League 2019, though their statistics with Mumbai is weaker than expected. Out of the three matches, they have succeeded in none. Chennai lost against Mumbai in the first qualifier strangely at their home ground. Chennai lost two games against Mumbai at their home ground, M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

Chennai has won 9 matches out of the 15 played. Chennai suffered a significant blow in the last round-robin fixture where Kedar Jadhav sustained a shoulder injury has to be ruled out for the remainder of the tournament. Which means, Chennai will play tomorrow again without Jadhav in the squad. Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh and Imran Tahir have all been in terrific form with the ball. Also, Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo have played their part with justice and with the balance and experience CSK have.

Players to choose from

MS Dhoni (C) (wk), Sam Billings, KM Asif, Dwayne Bravo, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Faf du Plessis, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja, Imran Tahir, Narayan Jagadeesan, Kedar Jadhav, Monu Kumar, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Santner, Dhruv Shorey, Mohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, Shardul Thakur, David Willey, Shane Watson

Previous Playing Records

Both the teams have played 27 matches together in the earlier matches, out of which Mumbai succeeded in winning 16 games while Chennai has won 11. Tomorrow is the fourth encounter between the two during this season. During the three earlier meetings this season, Mumbai has succeeded in beating Chennai.

Mumbai – Players to Watch

Quinton de Kock and Hardik Pandya

Chennai – Players to Watch

Dwayne Bravo and Imran Tahir

Suggested 11wickets Playing XI

Wicket Keeper – Quinton de Kock

Batsmen – Kieron Pollard, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina

All-Rounders – Hardik Pandya, Dwayne Bravo

Bowlers – Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir

Captain – Rohit Sharma

Vice-Captain – Hardik Pandya

12th Man – Ravindra Jadeja

Our match Preview:

An unsettled middle-order might be a cause of concern for Mumbai in case things do not start well for them with the bat.

Chennai has three world-class spinners.

Chennai has lost its last three matches it has played against Mumbai, an alarming record for the team.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on