IPL 10, Eliminator, Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kolkata Knight Riders – Statistical Highlights

All the records and statistical achievements from the game.

Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner
Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner. (Photo: Dhananjay TK/IANS)

The defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad are knocked out of the IPL with their defeat at the hands of Kolkata Knight Riders in the eliminator in a rain-affected game at Bangalore. Sunrisers, despite scoring just 128/7 looked set to make to the Qualifier 2 with rain breaking out after their innings.

However, advanced drainage facilities at the venue and extra time allocation for the crucial game ensured 6-over innings for KKR who were asked to chase a mere 48. Despite losing 3 wickets in first 7 balls, captain Gambhir took his side home safely with 4 balls to spare.


Here are all the stats and records from the game:

0 – Number of times in the IPL when a playoff/knockout game has witnessed the reduction of overs or the game being washed out due to rain before this game. 2014 Qualifier 1 game between KKR-KXIP was played on reserve day after the play wasn’t possible on the scheduled day.

1 – For the first time in professional cricket, Kane Williamson and Trent Boult played on opposite sides. They have played 59 first-class, 61 List A and 33 T20 games and also in 11 U19 Internationals but never played against one another.

12.38 – Shikhar Dhawan’s batting average is IPL playoffs/knockouts, the lowest for any player. He has scored 99 runs in the 8 innings.

32* – Gautam Gambhir’s 32* is his joint highest score in an IPL playoff/knockout so far. He has scored just 101 runs in his previous 8 innings in the IPL playoffs/knockouts.

26 – Wickets taken by Bhuvneshwar Kumar in this IPL season, the most by any Indian in an IPL season. His 26 wickets are the 3rd most in an IPL season behind Dwayne Bravo’s 32 in 2013, Lasith Malinga and James Faulkner’s 28 in 2011 and 2013 respectively.

100 – Wickets taken by Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the IPL since the start of 2013 season, the most by any player. The next best in this period is 83 wickets by Mohit Sharma. He is only next to Malinga to have 100 wickets across 5 IPL seasons.

114 – Innings taken by David Warner to complete 4000 runs in the IPL, the fewest among the 5 players with 4000 IPL runs. Virat Kohli was the previous fastest to the milestone taking 128 innings.

3023 – Runs scored by Gautam Gambhir in the IPL for Kolkata Knight Riders so far, he is the 4th player after Raina (CSK), Kohli (RCB) and Gayle (RCB) to score 3000 runs for a team in the IPL.

4014 – Runs scored by David Warner in the IPL so far, he is the 5th player and the first overseas to score 4000 runs in the IPL.