IPL 2018 Final: Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – Statistical Preview

Key stats and numbers ahead of the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League’s Final.

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan of Sunrisers Hyderabad celebrates fall of a wicket. (Photo by Kuntal Chakrabarty/IANS)

The 2018 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will conclude with the Sunrisers Hyderabad once again taking on the Chennai Super Kings at the Wankhede Stadium. The Sunrisers would be relieved to bring an end to their losing streak in the 2nd Qualifier where they defeated the Kolkata Knight Riders in a thriller.

However, they face the CSK jinx in the finals a team they haven’t defeated yet this season. The battle once again will be between SRH’s bowling and CSK’s batting which was key in deciding the fate of the first qualifier between these two sides.


Key stats and numbers ahead of the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League’s Final:

3-0Chennai Super Kings defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in all the three meetings in 2018. No team has defeated a single opposition on four occasions in a single IPL season. CSK leads the head to head record in the IPL against SRH by 7-9.

Mumbai Indians defeated Rising Pune Supergiant in the final last season after losing to them in all the three matches before that game.

8.2Rashid Khan’s bowling average in the IPL playoffs/knockouts. He has picked five wickets in three matches at this stage conceding 41 runs in 10 overs. Rashid delivered two overs for 11 runs in the last year’s rain-affected Eliminator game against KKR.

16 – The 2018 IPL final will be 16th appearance in a Twenty20 final for Dwayne Bravo. Only Kieron Pollard (20) has featured in more T20 finals than Bravo. Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni will be playing their 13th final in the T20 format which is the joint 3rd most for any player.

56.43 – MS Dhoni has scored 395 runs in the IPL against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 13 innings at an average of 56.43. He has four fifties against them in the league and maintained a strike-rate of 150.19.

367 – Suresh Raina has scored 367 runs in the Twenty20 tournament finals in 10 innings at an average of 52.52 and a strike-rate of 157.51. Only Kieron Pollard (388) and Dwayne Smith (372) have scored more runs in the T20 finals.

4953Suresh Raina needs 47 more runs to become the first player in the IPL history to touch the 5000-run mark.

4954 – Runs Raina has scored in the Twenty20 format for Chennai Super Kings. He needs 46 more runs to become the 2nd player after Virat Kohli (5372 for RCB) to score 5000 T20 runs for a single team.

5956 – Shikhar Dhawan needs 44 more runs to complete 6000 runs in the Twenty20 format. He will be the 6th Indian player to accomplish the milestone.