IPL 2018: Full list of award winners

Mumbai Indians failed to defend the title but won the Fairplay award of the season.

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 22K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were crowned the champions for the third time in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and completed a dream comeback to the fray of the tournament. The hero of the final was Shane Watson who played a magnificent knock of 117 runs and remained unbeaten right through the chase of 179 runs. Though one has to credit the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) for playing some exceptional cricket throughout the season and unfortunately, they came up short in the final courtesy of the brilliance from Watson.

It was a brilliant game of cricket as the Men in Yellow were too good on the day for the Orange Army. The jam-packed crowd at the Wankhede Stadium witnessed a memorable clash and one has to say that Watson saved his best for the final and made it look easy in the end. Kane Williamson was absolutely magnificent as he led his team from the front by playing some strokes which were pleasing to the eyes. In the end, it was unfortunate that his team came second but were the deserved finalists.

Here’s a compilation of the summary of the post-match presentation ceremony:

Winners: Chennai Super Kings – (Prize Money: Rs 20 Crores)

The Chennai Super Kings were the deserved winners of the IPL 2018 as they defeated the SRH in the final by 8 wickets. They were consistent right through the season and coped with different challenges extremely well and were wonderfully led by the captain cool MS Dhoni.

Runners-Up: Sunrisers Hyderabad – (Prize Money: Rs 12.5 Crores)

The Sunrisers Hyderabad definitely managed to punch above their weight. Their new captain Kane Williamson was inspirational and led from the front during the course of the tournament. They were the table toppers after the league stage but sadly ended up as the runners-up of the season.


Most Valuable Player: Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders) – (Prize Money: Rs 10 Lakhs)

Sunil Narine was brilliant as an all-rounder for the KKR throughout the season. He fittingly won the award of the Most Valuable Player this year. While his skills with the ball have been impeccable, his batting has reached a new level and he just blunted the leather this time around.

Orange Cap: Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – (Prize Money: Rs 10 Lakhs)

Undoubtedly, one of the best players of the IPL this year. He amassed 735 runs at a strike-rate of 142 with as many as 8 half-centuries which is just amazing. Even in the final he looked at his best and scored 47 runs off just 36 deliveries. Though he couldn’t play a defining knock, MS Dhoni was worried until he was there in the middle.

Purple Cap: Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab) – (Prize Money: Rs 10 Lakhs)

Andrew Tye’s deceptive knuckle balls were the point of discussion this year. He ended the season with a massive 24 wickets in 14 matches at an economy of 8 which is absolutely acceptable given that he bowls all the difficult overs. He managed to take the four-wicket haul thrice this season amongst which 4/16 were his best figures. Unfortunately, his team couldn’t qualify for the playoffs but the Australian won the hearts with his performances.

Emerging Player: Rishabh Pant (Delhi Daredevils) – (Prize Money: Rs 10 Lakhs)

The Emerging player award was won by the ever so impressive Rishabh Pant. The left-hander scored 684 runs in 14 matches at an unbelievable average of 52.52 and a strike-rate of 173.60. He deserved the award and is now being touted as the next big thing in the Indian cricket.

Fairplay Award: Mumbai Indians – (Prize: Trophy)

The defending champions Mumbai Indians won the Fairplay award this year for abiding the rules of the game and playing all the matches with sportsmanship. They failed to qualify for the playoffs and would be itching to come back strong next year.

Perfect Catch of the season: Trent Boult (Delhi Daredevils) – (Prize Money: Rs 10 Lakhs)

Trent Boult won the award of the Perfect Catch of the season. He took the catch of Virat Kohli at the Chinnaswamy Stadium which was absolutely a blinder and had left everyone in awe of him.

Super Striker of the season: Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders) – (Prize: Tata Nexon Car)

Sunil Narine won the award for maintaining the strike-rate of 189.89 throughout the 16 matches which he played. He batted fearlessly in all the matches while opening the season and got his team off to a great start more often than not.

Stylish player of the season: Rishabh Pant (Delhi Daredevils) – (Prize Money: Rs 10 Lakhs)

Rishabh Pant was the owner of the Stylish Player of the Season award as well. He literally mesmerized the fans with his batting and won it as many as 5 times during the league stages. The left-hander was one of the most explosive players of the season and more will be expected of him next year.

(Nayi Soch) Innovative thinking of the season: MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings) – (Prize Money: Rs 10 Lakhs)

MS Dhoni won this award for thinking out of the box most of the times during his team’s journey to the triumph. The captain cool was once again at the top of his tactics and got better of the other seven skippers in the comeback season for CSK.

Pitch and Ground award for hosting 7 or more matches: Cricket Association of Bengal – (Prize Money: Rs 50 Lakhs)

The iconic Eden Gardens won this award for being one of the best hosts during the whole T20 extravaganza. The crowd of Kolkata was absolutely exceptional in the support of the home side and it was jam-packed for almost all the matches.

Pitch and Ground award for hosting less than 7 matches: Punjab Cricket Association – (Prize Money: Rs 25 Lakhs)

Mohali won this award which was really appreciative given the fact that they hosted only 3 matches. There were a lot of high-scoring matches at the venue and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) won all the three matches they played here.

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates