IPL 2018: Match 24, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings – Statistical Highlights

IPL 2018: Match 24, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the high scoring thriller in Bangalore.

MS Dhoni
Chennai Super Kings’ MS Dhoni in action. (Photo by IANS)

The much awaited South Indian derby turned out to be a run feast as the ball sailed over the ropes at Chinnaswamy where Chennai Super Kings sneaked through a final over thriller. The home side had the match in their hands where AB de Villiers and Quinton de Kock took on the CSK bowlers with fifties. Their departure dent RCB a chance of finishing with a huge score. Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni’s partnership changed the game towards CSK after they lost four early wickets. Super Kings needed only four balls to finish the 16 runs needed in the final over.

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the high scoring thriller in Bangalore:

9 – AB de Villiers now scored nine fifties in the IPL in 25 and fewer balls which are the 2nd most behind David Warner’s 11 fifties. De Villiers hit eight sixes during his 68-run knock which are joint 2nd fewest runs made by any player for 8+ sixes in an IPL inning. Kieron Pollard hit eight sixes during his 66* against SRH in 2013 while Yuvraj Singh hit nine sixes during his 68* against DD in the 2014 season while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

33 – The 33 sixes hit in this game are the most in an IPL game. The previous highest was 31 sixes during the DD-GL game in the 2017 season and CSK-KKR match earlier this season. The 33 sixes are also the most in a T20 game in India and the joint 2nd most in a Twenty20 match.

46 – Shardul Thakur’s 46 runs in the game are the most runs conceded by any bowler in an IPL game after bowling a maiden over. Praveen Kumar conceded 45 runs in his four overs including a maiden also against RCB in Bangalore in the 2016 season while playing for Gujarat Lions.

Ambati Rayudu
Ambati Rayudu plays a shot. (Photo Source: Twitter)

82 – Ambati Rayudu registered his highest individual score in the IPL surpassing his 81* in 2012 also against RCB during a run-chase in Bangalore. MS Dhoni‘s 70* in this game is his highest in winning cause in the IPL. His previous highest coming in winning cause was 67* against SRH in the 2013 season.

100 – Umesh Yadav became the 12th bowler to complete 100 wickets in the IPL that too in his 100th IPL match.

100 – This match was Virat Kohli’s 100th in the Twenty20 format as captain. He is now the 8th player and the 3rd Indian after MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir to captain in 100 T20s.

101 – The 101-run partnership between Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni is the first 100-run stand for CSK in the IPL for the 5th and lower wicket. Dhoni shared a 95-run stand with S Badrinath in the 2008 edition against MI.

180 – Number of sixes AB de Villiers hit in his IPL career so far. Only Chris Gayle (286) hit more sixes in IPL than De Villiers. He surpassed Rohit Sharma‘s tally of 179 sixes in the IPL with his eight sixes in the game.

AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers plays a shot. (Photo Source: Twitter)

205/8 – RCB became the first team to post a 200+ total in the IPL after batting two and more maiden overs. The previous highest IPL total to include two and more maidens was 175/7 by Rajasthan Royals against Delhi Daredevils in 2015.

206 – The successful chase of 206 is the joint highest for CSK and also the joint highest for any team against RCB in the IPL. CSK chased down 206 after RCB posted exactly 205/8 in the 2012 season in Chennai. This is the joint 3rd highest successful run-chase in the history of IPL.

5010 – MS Dhoni became the first player to score 5000 runs as captain in the Twenty20 format. He completed the milestone with the six in the penultimate over off Mohammed Siraj.