IPL 2018: Match 45, DD vs RCB, Preview- Last throw of the dice for the Challengers

IPL 2018: Match 45, DD vs RCB, Preview- Last throw of the dice for the Challengers

Delhi have nothing to lose in tomorrow's match against RCB.

(Photo Source: Twitter)

The Delhi Daredevils (DD) have already been eliminated from the tournament and can’t progress to the playoffs even with victories in all their remaining matches. From a personal front, they only have pride to play for. However, the Daredevils have the opportunity to play spoilsport to the qualification chances of the other teams.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will be pitted against Shreyas Iyer’s men at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi. While Virat Kohli’s & Co. are in dire requisite of a victory, the home team has nothing to lose. RCB slumped to their latest defeat against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and some motivational tonic to get themselves going in the tournament.

The franchise can’t afford another mishap, which will bring the curtains on their campaign. The track at the Kotla is expected to be favourable to the batsmen and the crowd can hope for another run-fest in the capital city.

Toss: RCB won the toss and elected to field first

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Parthiv Patel(w), Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Moeen Ali, Sarfaraz Khan, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Delhi Daredevils (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Jason Roy, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Abhishek Sharma, Amit Mishra, Sandeep Lamichhane, Junior Dala, Trent Boult

Team Combination  

Delhi Daredevils

The Daredevils now can afford to make some changes in their squad. Glenn Maxwell might open with Prithvi Shaw. Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant have been in prime touch and they are likely to remain in their respective slots. Naman Ojha, who hasn’t played thus far, might come into the eleven. Vijay Shankar is expected to bat next in the lineup.

In the bowling department, they could make a couple of changes as well. Sandeep Lamichhane, the leg-break bowler from Nepal, is in line to get his maiden opportunity in the cash-rich tournament. Junior Dala might also be drafted in place of Liam Plunkett. Trent Boult remains their strike bowler. Shahbaz Nadeem and Amit Mishra are the other bowlers.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

There are a few possible changes in the batting lineup for the next game. Quinton de Kock, who didn’t play the last two matches, might return to the squad and open with Parthiv Patel. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers will have to deliver for RCB to keep their hopes of qualification alive. There is a possibility that Manan Vohra be dropped down the order to accomodate him in the XI. Colin de Grandhomme and Mandeep Singh’s role will also be crucial.

Tim Southee and Umesh Yadav have been stupendous and need to display the same touch against DD as well. Yuzvendra Chahal has been a touch erratic this season and needs to find his rhythm, being one of the strike bowlers of the team. Mohammad Siraj was excellent in the last match. Moreover, Murugan Ashwin should also come into the eleven.

Yupp TV

Players to watch out for  

Shreyas Iyer- Delhi Daredevils

Iyer was appointed the skipper in order to get Delhi’s campaign on track. He tried his best, but couldn’t save the franchise elimination. He failed to deliver in the last match against the Sunrisers where he was dismissed run-out. It will now be interesting to see how he keeps himself and the bunch of players motivated in their remaining three games.

AB de Villiers- Royal Challengers Bangalore

AB de Villiers has played a couple of match-winning knocks earlier in the tournament. However, following his return after the viral fever, he has strained to find rhythm into his batting. The Pretoria-born cricketer needs to come to the part in order for RCB to turn over the Daredevils in their own backyard.

Head to Head

Played- 20, DD- 6, RCB- 12, NR/Tie- 2

Stat Attack

Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring most runs against DD in the IPL. He has scored 691 runs against them in 17 innings.

Broadcast details

TV– Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi, Star Jalsha (Bengali), Star Maa Movies (Telegu), Star Sports Tamil

Live Streaming– Hotstar & YuppTv

Match Timings: 20:00 IST, 14:30 GMT

For more cricket news and other stories, visit Crictracker.com.