IPL 2019: Jos Buttler finally breaks silence on being ‘Mankaded’ by Ravi Ashwin
"That is why it was nice to get some runs."
Updated - Apr 4, 2019 4:06 pm
He was not heard saying anything in public besides getting involved in a verbal exchange with Ravi Ashwin after the controversial ‘Mankading’ incident in a match of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) on March 25. But now Rajasthan Royals’ (RR) batsman Jos Buttler has broken his silence on the issue and called for clarity in the laws that govern the game. Ashwin, who was captaining Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in that game in Jaipur, came to bowl the 13th over during the RR’s chase of 185.
The home team was well placed at the moment at 108 for 1 when Ashwin decided to run Buttler out at the non-striker’s end as he left the crease looking for a run. The act led to a huge outrage and although Ashwin found supporters backing him, he was also slammed by many who felt he violated the game’s spirit.
Buttler was yet given out as the rule books permit such a dismissal and the incident saw a complete change in the texture of the game as the RR eventually lost the match by 14 runs. Buttler was the highest scorer for them with 69 in 43 balls. What made the incident even more controversial is that Ashwin seemed to have waited for the batsman to go forward and took off the bails.
“At the time, I was really disappointed with it. I didn’t like the style of it,” Times of India (TOI) cited reports as quoting the hard-hitting batsman. It can be mentioned here that both Ashwin and Buttler were found involved in such instances of ‘Mankading’ earlier as well and on both occasions, Sri Lanka were the common opponents.
Buttler even said that after that incident, he became more conscious about it and that left him distracted in a way. Buttler managed just five and six in the next two games, respectively, before hitting a match-winning 59 against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Tuesday at the same venue where he was ‘Mankaded’.
“That is why it was nice to get some runs in the win and get back to thinking about batting and not worrying about how I back up at the non-striker’s end.”
Decision was probably wrong though ‘Mankading’ has to be in laws, says Buttler
Buttler was opined that the decision that went against him on March 25 was “probably wrong” since the time when Ashwin was expected to release the ball saw him standing inside the crease.
The English batsman did not speak against ‘Mankading’ saying it had to be within the laws of the game to ensure that a batsman did not take undue advantage while taking a run but at the same time, he said the law’s words “when a bowler is expected to release the ball” was “a wishy-washy statement”.