IPL 2019: Match 46, Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – Statistical Highlights

All the key stats and numbers recorded during RCB’s first loss in Delhi in nine years.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Delhi Capitals finally broke the jinx of losing to the Royal Challengers Bangalore at their home ground in Delhi. This victory also cleared their way to the playoffs for the first time in seven editions. Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer’s half-century laid the platform for the hosts to post 187/5. The RCB team had a 63-run opening stand in only 5.5 overs but struggled to get going on a track that was slowing down. DC pacers held their calm in the death overs to limit the visitors to 171/7.

All the key stats and numbers recorded during RCB’s first loss in Delhi in nine years:

A first after a while for Delhi:

6 – Delhi Capitals brought an end to their 6-match losing streak against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. The Delhi team defeated RCB in 2008 and 2010 seasons at this venue but lost all the six they played between 2011 and 2018.


2008 – The last instance when RCB lost to the Delhi franchise twice in an IPL season was way back in 2008. In fact, they won their first three IPL meetings against RCB but won only four of the 20 games they played since then.

RCB @ 100:

100 – This defeat was the 100th in the Twenty20 format for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. They are the first team from India and overall the 3rd to lose as many as 100 T20s. Only Middlesex (112) and Derbyshire (101) have lost more Twenty20s than RCB thus far.

Kohli @ 5000:

5020 – Runs Virat Kohli has aggregated in the IPL on the Indian soil. He is now the first player to complete 5000 IPL runs in India. Suresh Raina stands second on this list with 4699 runs to his name. Kohli scored 105 IPL runs in the games played in UAE and 246 runs in the 2009 edition held in South Africa.

King of Kotla:

8 – Shikhar Dhawan now has 8 fifties in the IPL at the Feroz Shah Kotla; the most by any player in this league at this venue. Dhawan went past Virender Sehwag who has scored seven fifties despite playing 13 matches more. Shreyas Iyer also equalled Sehwag with his 7th fifty in 28 IPL matches at this venue.

Ishant @ 100:

100 – The wicket of Gurkeerat Singh was the 100th for Ishant Sharma in the Twenty20 cricket. His maiden wicket in this format was also recorded at the Feroz Shah Kotla during the 2007 Syed Mushtaq Ali while playing for Delhi.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on