IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians release 10 players ahead of next edition

IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians release 10 players ahead of next edition

Eight Indians in the list of retained players.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo by IANS)

Ever since Rohit Sharma has taken over the leadership role, Mumbai Indians (MI) have tasted a significant amount of success in the Indian Premier League (IPL), having won the championship as many as thrice- 2013, 2015 and 2017 respectively. However, they didn’t have much to cheer in the last edition as they crashed out of the event prior to the playoffs.

They won six out of their 14 matches and finished fifth in the points table. As one of the most successful teams in the T20 league, they would be desperate to make amends and put their best foot forward in the next edition. In the meantime, it has been learned that the franchise has released 10 players out the 28-member squad as per reports on their official website.

Four foreigners in the list  

Earlier, they released the likes of Mustafizur Rahman, the Bangladesh left-arm pacer, and Akila Dananjaya, the Sri Lankan spinner, and drafted in South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, who was traded by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Mumbai have also released Australian fast bowler Pat Cummins, whom they brought for INR 5.4 crore.

The right-arm speedster suffered a back injury ahead of the event and was subsequently ruled out. The franchise has also let go off Proteas all-round cricketer JP Duminy, who played six matches and could only score 36 runs at an average of 36. Pradeep Sangwan and Saurabh Tiwary, who have a fair amount of experience in the IPL, have also been released.

Retained players: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff.

Released players: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.

[interaction id=”5bea338c3cea78259855338f”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.