IPL 2019 Preview: Predicted winners of the season

IPL 2019 Preview: Predicted winners of the season

IPL 2019 kicks off with CSK taking on SRH on the 23rd of March in M.A Chidambaram Stadium, Tamil Nadu.

Chennai Super Kings IPL
IPL 2018 champions Chennai Super Kings. (Photo by Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Current champions Chennai Super Kings will open the 2019 IPL season where they will be up against Sun Risers Hyderabad on the 23rd of March in M.A Chidambaram Stadium, Tamil Nadu. The final is due to take place on the 12th May in the Wankhede Stadium Mumbai. Defending champions Chennai Super Kings are current 9/2 second favourites with the team they beat in the final Hyderabad Sunrisers 4/1 to go one step further than last season.

Mumbai Indians are in at 5/1 and will be out to claim their title back after giving it up last season in what some will say was without much of a fight. Kolkata Knight Riders are 11/2 to get their name on the IPL trophy. Royal Challengers Bangalore are also in at 11/2 to be crowned 2019 champions.

  • Hyderabad Sunrisers 9/2
  • Chennai Super Kings 5/1
  • Mumbai Indians 5/1
  • Kolkata Knight Rider 11/2
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore 11/2

You can see more odds at betopin.com on their betting exchange site.

Big Auction Signings

Rajasthan Royal forked out £940,000 on Indian bowler Jaydev Unadkat to add that bit more to their attack.

Kings XI Punjab splashed out £940,000 on top Indian all-rounder Varun Chakravarthy, along with England’s all-rounder Sam Curren for £800,000.

South African batsman Colin Ingram was snapped up by Delhi Capitals for no less than £715,000 in the aim for him to bring his magic to Delhi.

30-year-old West Indian all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite is on his way to Kings Raiders for £560,000.

Some of the top names went unsold at this seasons auction, with the likes of English batsman Alex Hales, Sri Lankan all-rounder Anglo Mathews and Australian bowler James Patterson going unsold.

After it was confirmed that Colin Ingram was on his way to Delhi Capitals, he put out a video on his Twitter account “The hype and buzz around cricket in India it’s fantastic and it’s going to be great to be part of it.”

“As for the Delhi Capitals, its look like a bunch of exciting players and I am looking forward to joining up with them and putting our best foot forward next season.”

Carlos Brathwaite also displayed his delight of joining up with King Raiders by saying, “I have heard a lot of really positive about the Knight Raiders family and I am honoured and excited to now be a part of their successful franchise in the IPL.”

Last 5 winners

Only Mumbai Indians have won the IPL more than once in the last 5 years where they captured it in 2015 and 2017. Kolkata Knight Riders last won it back in 2014 and Sunrisers Hyderabad winning the 2016 version and then we have the current holders Chennai Super Kings.

  • 2014 – Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2015 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2016 – Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2017 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2018 – Chennai Super Kings


This seasons IPL season looks as competitive as ever, but I would be willing to put up Hyderabad Sunrisers as my pick. They were beaten in 2018 final by 8 wickets when the Chennai Super Kings came out on top.

With most of last season’s squad back this season you will be sure that Kane Williamson and all of the Hyderabad Sunrisers players will be out for revenge and go one better than last season and lift the coveted IPL trophy.