IPL 2020: 10 Hilarious memes from SRH vs KXIP game

IPL 2020: 10 Hilarious memes from SRH vs KXIP game

SRH team gets badly trolled for their sensational collapse vs KXIP.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The 43rd match of the ongoing 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) witnessed Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) locking horns against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on October 24, Saturday at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. This was a crucial game for both the teams to stay alive in the competition and give a tough fight to the Kolkata Knight Riders for the fourth spot in the points table. David Warner-led side lost an easy fixture by 12 runs owing to the spectacular show by KXIP bowling unit.

Losing the toss, the KL Rahul-led side were sent to bat first. Instead of their traditional opening pair of Rahul and Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh came to start the innings with the captain as Mayank has reportedly sustained a hamstring injury. The pacer Sandeep Sharma was successful in giving his team the first breakthrough by taking the wicket of Mandeep. As Chris Gayle came to bat at Number 3, a partnership started brewing between Rahul and Gayle, however, a perfect ball by Jason Holder resulted in the end of the innings for the Universe Boss.

Rahul soon followed his counterpart in the pavilion as he couldn’t read the bowl by Rashid Khan. After that, there was no excitement left in Punjab’s batting line-up. Though Nicholas Pooran was holding one end, the wickets kept falling from the other side resulting in the team putting up a low total of 126 at the loss of 7 wickets.

Punjab bowlers snatched the victory from SRH

With the below-par target of 127, it was supposed to be an easy win for the Sunrisers. The opening duo of Jonny Bairstow and David Warner looked promising after making 52 runs in the powerplay. However, the things spiced up a little and Punjab got a hope of winning when both the opening batsmen were out within 8 overs. While the spinner Ravi Bishnoi named the wicket of Warner, Bairstow was bowled by Mohammed Shami.

This was followed by a wicket of Abdul Samad who was sent ahead of Vijay Shankar in the batting line-up. Despite this, the Punjab franchise needed just 28 runs off 24 runs and it was supposed to be a no-show run chase for Manish Pandey and Vijay Shankar. But the two soon fell prey to Chris Jordan and Arshdeep Singh.

Jordan bowled a brilliant 19th over as he took wickets of Jason Holder and Rashid Khan on two consecutive deliveries. He further gave just 3 runs to reduce the equation to 14 runs needed off the last 6 balls. Arshdeep did unthinkable for his team in the final over as he named the wicket of Priyam Garg, Sandeep Sharma and Khaleel Ahmed to end all the hopes for the 2016-Champions.

Thus, Punjab managed to defend 126 runs in the 20 over game and won the match by 12 runs to keep their hopes of making it to the Top 4 alive.

Here are the best memes from KXIP vs SRH game