IPL 2020: Match 5, KKR vs MI – Rohit Sharma's milestones, MI's maiden win in UAE and more stats

IPL 2020: Match 5, KKR vs MI – Rohit Sharma’s milestones, MI’s maiden win in UAE and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from the first win of the Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2020.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Mumbai Indians opened their winning count on Wednesday with a big 49-run win over the Kolkata Knight Riders with which MI also broke their UAE hoodoo. Skipper Rohit Sharma played a key role in lifting the team to a big total of 195/5 as he struck six maximums on his way to a 54-ball 80. It was well backed by a collective bowling effort from the MI’s bowling unit. As many as four players picked up a wicket for Mumbai Indians while Kieron Pollard also chipped in with a wicket.

Here are all the statistical highlights from the first win of the Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2020:

MI breaks their UAE jinx:

1 – Mumbai Indians registered their maiden IPL victory in the UAE with the 49-run win against KKR. MI lost all the five matches played in UAE during the 2014 IPL and also this season’s opening match against CSK.

20 – Mumbai Indians became the first team to win as many as 20 IPL matches against KKR team. The Knight Riders managed to win six of the 26 IPL matches they played against the Mumbai franchise.

1/10 – MI ended their 9-match losing streak in IPL matches played outside India. In addition to the six matches in UAE, the MI team lost their last three games during the 2009 IPL in South Africa. This is also MI’s first win in 12 matches played outside India with the last coming back in 2010 CLT20.

KKR starts with a defeat:

2012 – The 2012 edition was the last instance of Kolkata Knight Riders losing their first match of an IPL season. The KKR team won their first match of every IPL edition across seven IPL seasons between 2013 and 2019.

Rohit goes past Dhoni:

18 – Rohit Sharma now has won 18 player of the match awards in the IPL which are the most for any Indian. Overall, only Chris Gayle (21) and AB de Villiers (20) have won more player of the match awards in the IPL than Rohit.

A day of milestones for Rohit:

200 – Rohit Sharma became the 2nd Indian after MS Dhoni to smash 200 sixes in the IPL with the six maximums he hit against KKR. Among overseas players, only Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers achieved this feat before Rohit.

904 – Rohit is now the first player to aggregate 900+ runs in the IPL against an opponent. He has aggregated 904 runs from 26 IPL matches against the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Hardik smashes his own stumps:

2 – Hardik Pandya got out hit wicket in the bowling of Andre Russell becoming the 2nd player in the IPL to be dismissed via hit wicket for Mumbai Indians. Musavir Khote became the first when he was out hit wicket in the 2008 season match against KXIP in the bowling of S Sreesanth.

2 – Andre Russell is now the 2nd bowler in the IPL history to register two wickets via hit wicket. S Sreesanth recorded the first two hit wicket dismissals of the IPL by dismissing Musavir Khote and Misbah-ul-Haq in 2008.

Cummins scores big after conceding big:

16.33Pat Cummins’ economy rate of 16.33 is the joint 2nd worst in an IPL match for KKR (Min: 3 overs). Lakshmipathy Balaji gave away 51 runs in his three overs at 17 economy rate in the 2011 season match against MI while Jaydev Unadkat also conceded 49 off his three overs in 2016 edition game also vs MI.

1 – Pat Cummins is now the first player in the history of IPL to score runs at 250+ strike rate and also concede at 15+ economy rate in the same IPL match [Min: 12 balls batted and 12 balls bowled]. Cummins scored 33 off 12 balls at a strike rate of 275 alongside conceding 49 runs at an economy rate of 16.33.

Pollard @ 150:

150 – This match was 150th match in Kieron Pollard’s IPL career making him only the 2nd overseas player after AB de Villiers and the 14th over to complete 150 IPL games. Pollard (MI) and Kohli (RCB) are the only players at the moment to play 150+ IPL matches by representing only one franchise.

2015 – Last time Kieron Pollard picked up a wicket in the IPL was back in 2015 during MI’s last league game which was his 91st appearance in the IPL. Pollard has not bowled a ball in the IPL since MI’s first match of the 2017 edition (His 107th IPL game).