IPL 2020: Tournament to be broadcasted and streamed live in 120 countries

IPL 2020: Tournament to be broadcasted and streamed live in 120 countries

There will be no live telecast of the tournament in Pakistan.

IPL 2018 BCCI Jammu and Kashmir
IPL trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The much-awaited 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is less than a week away from getting underway. The defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) will take on the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the season opener in Abu Dhabi on September 19. A lot of efforts have been taken over the months to make this year’s IPL a reality amidst the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic and finally, the Indian fans will have something to cheer about now.

Cricket in England, West Indies and a few other countries has begun as well with the ECB successfully creating a bio-bubble for their international summer. Even the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) was conducted successfully behind the closed doors. However, the cricketing world has been waiting for perhaps the most lucrative league in the world, IPL, to get underway and the tournament is set to be aired live in as many as 120 countries.

Star India has the broadcasting rights of the IPL and they are set to make it a grand event for its viewers in India. While the Star Sports will be broadcasting all the matches, its various regional languages will also be showing the games live. As per the reports in InsideSport, the broadcaster is planning to broadcast IPL live in 9 different regional languages.

Live Streaming on Disney + Hotstar VIP

Apart from the live broadcast, the IPL can be live streamed on Disney + Hotstar VIP as well. Meanwhile, Sky Sports will broadcast the tournament live in United Kingdom and Ireland while it is still not clear if the live streaming will be available on Hostar in these countries. Cricket viewers in USA and Canada can resort to Willow TV while Star India has signed a deal with SuperSport to broadcast the IPL live in South Africa.

There will be no live telecast of the cash-rich league in Pakistan and Fox Sports has acquired the broadcasting rights of IPL in Australia and New Zealand. Star India has got into contractual relationships with local broadcasters in Afghanistan and Bangladesh for the IPL 2020.

Here are the details:

India: Star Sports, Disney Hotstar + VIP

UK & Ireland: Sky Sports, Yupp TV

USA & Canada: Willow TV

South Africa, Middle East and North Africa: SuperSport

South East Asia including Malaysia, Singapore and South America: Yupp TV

Australia & New Zealand: Fox Sports, Kayo Sports