IPL 2021: AB de Villiers picks his all-time IPL XI, leaves out Suresh Raina and Lasith Malinga

IPL 2021: AB de Villiers picks his all-time IPL XI, leaves out Suresh Raina and Lasith Malinga

He went for MS Dhoni as the skipper of his eleven.

AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli
AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Former South African cricketer AB de Villiers has named his all-time XI in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The veteran started his IPL career for the Delhi Daredevils, now Capitals, where Virender Sehwag was one of his teammates. Apart from Sehwag, he went for Mumbai Indians’ (MI) Rohit Sharma as the second opener. Under Rohit, MI have won as many as five IPL titles.

“Last night I was thinking that if I pick my IPL XI and I include myself, how bad would that look. So, opening the batting, I would pick someone whom I started with at Delhi, Viru (Virender Sehwag) at 1 and someone who I think has played some of the best cricket in the world in the last five years, Rohit at No. 2,” de Villiers was quoted as saying to Cricbuzz.

AB de Villiers picks only one player from RCB

For the middle-order, he went for his RCB skipper, Virat Kohli, at three. Even as he put himself for the fourth position, De Villiers kept Steve Smith and Kane Williamson in the fray as well. As the all-rounders, he went for Ravindra Jadeja and Ben Stokes. Though Rohit is the most successful IPL skipper, the retired Proteas went for MS Dhoni as the skipper.

Dhoni has guided the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to three IPL titles thus far. As the fast bowlers, he went for Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kagiso Rabada. Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan is the sole specialist spinner in his eleven.

“Then obviously Virat at No. 3, followed by I’d say either Williamson, or Smith, or myself… these are the two replacements. Ben Stokes at 5, MS at six as captain, and at No. 7, I’d put Jaddu, Mr. Jadeja. Rashid Khan at 8, Bhuvi at 9, Kagiso Rabada at 10, and Bumrah at 11,” he added.

De Villiers didn’t go for Suresh Raina, who’s the second-highest run-scorer in the history of the IPL. He also left out the legendary Lasith Malinga, who is currently the highest wicket-taker in the championship.

Here’s the XI:

Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson/Steve Smith/AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, MS Dhoni (C and WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah