IPL 2021: Best XI that never won the title

IPL 2021: Best XI that never won the title

Players who are yet to get their hands on the IPL trophy.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli of RCB (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The Indian Premier League is one of the toughest leagues in the world. With so many players fighting out to win the lucrative trophy, it is difficult for the players to shine on the IPL stage. Currently, the Mumbai Indians have won the trophy five times and, they have been invincible. 

Apart from MI, another team that has won multiple trophies is CSK. Under Dhoni’s leadership, CSK has won three trophies so far. But, last year, the competition was so tough that they failed to reach the playoffs. This time, the fans will be hoping for CSK to turn things around. 

Teams like DC, PBKS, and RCB have been unable to win a trophy. Even though they have managed to reach the finals in 2020 and 2014 respectively, they still remain to lift the trophy. KKR has managed to lift the trophy twice in 2012 and 2014, but they have been unable to make a mark after their two title wins. SRH has been a consistent squad but it has won only once in 2016. Talking about RR, they have never won a trophy after their incredible triumph in 2008. Hence, many big names have not got their hands on trophy and let’s take a look at-

Best XI that has never won the IPL trophy

1. Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle of PBKS (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The most astonishing fact in the cricketing world is that the brand ambassador of T20 cricket has never won the IPL trophy. Arguably the greatest T20 batsman, Gayle has won two ICC T20 World Cup. But, till now, he has never won an IPL trophy even after playing some memorable innings. The only reason he has not won the IPL is because of his franchise. 

Gayle was a part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore for most of his career. And they were heavily dependent on him to deliver the goods for them. But, it was too much on the plate even for Chris Gayle, and hence, he never won a trophy with them. Now, he is a part of the Punjab Kings.

In 137 IPL matches, Gayle has scored 4848 runs. With a highly impressive average of 40.40, he has been a legend in the tournament. Adding on, Gayle has a strike rate of 149.49, which makes him one of the best in the business. Gayle deserves to lift the trophy at least once in his final years as a cricketer.