Most IPL Centuries | Batsmen With Most Centuries in IPL History

IPL 2021: Most centuries in IPL history

It is a big dream for any batsmen to smash a ton for his team when he steps out on the field.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

It is a big dream for any batsmen to smash a ton for his team when he steps out on the field. However, in T20 cricket, we seldom see players scoring centuries given there is very less time to achieve the milestone. This is the case in the most famous T20 league of the world i.e. IPL as well. In this article, we will be discussing the performance of 5 players who have scored the most hundreds in the tournament so far.

The name who is at the top in this regard is a very familiar name in the world of T20 cricket. Chris Gayle who is arguably the greatest T20 player of all time has smashed a record 6 centuries in the cash-rich league. His first hundred in IPL came in 2011 when he played a brilliant knock of 102 runs off 55 balls with the help of 10 fours and 7 sixes. His last ton in IPL came against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018. This was the same season where he was unsold in the first round of the auction but was picked by the Punjab franchise in last.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli did not have a single century to his name in the T20 format until the 2016 IPL season. In that year, he shattered all big records by smashing 4 hundreds in one single season and aggregated 973 runs. His phenomenal effort meant RCB reached the finals after finishing at the top 2 in the points table. Later on in IPL 2019, Virat brought up his fifth ton in the league by scoring 100 runs off 58 balls against Kolkata Knight Riders.

David Warner who is considered as one of the most successful overseas players of the tournament has smacked 4 tons so far. He scored his first ton back in 2010 while playing for the Delhi team and achieved the landmark again in 2012. Later he got his first century while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad against KKR in 2017. In IPL 2019 game against RCB, he along with Jonny Bairstow got centuries in the same match. 

Shane Watson who bid adieu to the league last season also has 4 hundreds in the tournament. He played a key role in helping Rajasthan Royals clinch the title in the inaugural season. In the 2018 final against Sunrisers Hyderabad, he played magnificent innings of 117 in 57 balls helping Chennai Super Kings become the champion.

Like David Warner, the proteas player AB de Villiers too started his IPL journey with the Delhi team. The South African smashed his first century in the cash-rich league while playing for Delhi in 2009. Later on, he played two memorable century knocks for the Bangalore team in 2015 and 2016. 

Most centuries in IPL history

Player Innings Runs Average Centuries
Chris Gayle 139 4950 40.24 6
Virat Kohli 191 6076 37.97 5
David Warner 148 5447 42.22 4
Shane Watson 141 3874 30.99 4
AB de Villiers 162 5056 40.77 3

*Last updated on 17 Sep,2021