IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians updated squad for the UAE leg

IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians updated squad for the UAE leg

Mumbai Indians have a chance of creating history by becoming the first team to win three IPL seasons on the trot. Can they do it?

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Mumbai Indians is a prime example of how to run an Indian Premier League team. After winning the titles in the 2019 and 2020 seasons, the franchise is looking to create history by becoming the first team to win the IPL title three years in a row. And there is no doubt that they have a squad that can make them achieve this incredible feat. 

Mumbai Indians didn’t have the best of starts to the tournament, but that has never stopped them from coming back in the tournament and winning it. The 2021 season saw them being a bit inconsistent but at the time when the tournament was called off, it seemed like the team and their tactics were coming together in one place. 

Mumbai lost their opening match to Royal Challengers Bangalore but managed to escape with wins in their next two matches against Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad. After this, they went on to lose two consecutive matches against Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings. All these matches were played in Chennai, where the wicket was slow and uncharacteristic to the ideal conditions in which Mumbai thrives. 

Mumbai Indians eyes a third trophy on the trot

They reached Delhi after this where they beat Rajasthan Royals and then their arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings. It was only after their miraculous win against CSK when the tournament was postponed due to the COVID outbreak. This left Mumbai with four wins and three losses in seven matches, holding on to the fourth position, clearing the fifth place Royals by two points. 

There is good news for the Mumbai Indians management and that is the fact that all their available players will be back for the second leg in the UAE. Unlike some of the other teams, Mumbai will have the same squad available for the second phase. They will play the opening match after the resumption against Chennai Super Kings on September 19. 

Mumbai Indians updated squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav, Chris Lynn, Mohsin Khan, Saurabh Tiwary, Trent Boult, Adam Milne, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, James Neeshan, Yudhvir Charak, Marco Jansen, Arjun Tendulkar