IPL 2022: 10 longest sixes in the history of IPL

IPL 2022 has also witnessed a couple of towering hits from the batters

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Basit Mahmood

Freelancer Writer

View : 120.8K

11 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The power-hitting players in IPL allow the fans to enjoy the game as they want to see some long sixes from their favorite players. In the last season, Ruturaj Gaikwad smashed a 108-meter six, which was the longest of the season. Some other big hitters like KL Rahul and Kieron Pollard were also able to hit sixes as long as 100 meters.

The fast pace of the game, coupled with some staggering and gigantic sixes hit by the batters, is enough to get any cricket fan excited. The majority of us viewers watch the IPL because of the batters. The teams have a stunning line-up filled with world-class players. Some are power-hitters, and spectators can expect raining sixes in every match. Since the tournament’s inauguration, the IPL has witnessed great knocks from players, including some monstrous hitting.

Top 10 longest sixes in the history of IPL

10. Liam Livingstone – 117 Mtrs 

Liam Livingstone's six
Liam Livingstone’s six. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Punjab Kings batter Liam Livingstone unleashed this monstrous hit against Gujarat Lions in IPL 2022. PBKS were on the cusp of victory when Livingstone arrived in the middle and the Englishman escalated the proceedings. He took the in-form Mohammed Shami in the first ball of the 16th over and sent the ball sailing over the deep square leg region.

The ball travelled a whooping 117 metres as the cricket world was in shock. Even Shami couldn’t help but praise Livingstone while PBKS skipper Mayank Agarwal was left dumbstruck. Someone like Kevin Pietersen, who was also known for his six-hitting capabilities, also stated that he hasn’t seen a bigger six than this.

Shami couldn’t come back afterwards as Livingstone cleared the ropes four more times in the same over, gathering 28 runs of it. He remained unbeaten on 30 off just 10 balls as the Mohali-based team clinched the contest by eight wickets.

Page1 / 10