IPL 2022: SRH lodge protest against third umpire's decision over Kane Williamson's dismissal

IPL 2022: SRH lodge protest against third umpire’s decision over Kane Williamson’s dismissal

Devdutt Padikkal took the controversial catch of Williamson in SRH's game against RR.

Devdutt Padikkal catch
Devdutt Padikkal catch. (Photo Source: Disney+Hotstar)

Sunrisers Hyderabad have reportedly lodged a complaint by writing to the IPL officials against the third umpire’s decision over their skipper Kane Williamson’s dismissal. In the game between Rajasthan Royals and the Sunrisers Hyderabad on March 29, Williamson edged a delivery of Prasidh Krishna to the wicketkeeper but it popped out of diving Sanju Samson’s hands and Devdutt Padikkal, who stood in the first slip area, had a grasp at it.

However, Williamson wasn’t convinced and the matter was referred to the third umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan to be confirmed. After a few snaps of the catch, it certainly looked unclear and the ball seemed to have bounced in front of Padikkal’s hands before it was grasped. The third umpire was pretty much convinced with the catch despite the images showing the contrary and the Sunrisers lost the game in the end by 61 runs.

The process has been followed: Franchise official

As per the sources, an SRH franchise official confirmed that they have written to the BCCI to protest against the third umpire’s decision and noted the procedure requires the coach to write. Another spokesman from the franchise mentioned that the captain has mentioned the decision in the report to the IPL match referee.

“Yes, we’ve written to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The procedure is that the coach has to write and the process has been followed,” a franchise official said as quoted by Cricbuzz.

“The protest was also mentioned in the captain’s report which is given to the IPL match referee after each game,” a spokesman for the team management added.

Meanwhile, the head coach Tom Moody mentioned that he was pretty much surprised after seeing the replay and was worried about the fact that the third umpire had evidence to make a decision.

“We were very surprised that it was given out, particularly when we saw the replay. I can understand the on-field umpires taking it upstairs, and when that happened and we saw the evidence. We’re certainly not umpires, but it looked pretty clear to us what the decision was.” Moody told in the post-match press conference.