IPL: 4 players Mumbai Indians might retain ahead of the mega auction

IPL: 4 players Mumbai Indians might retain ahead of the mega auction

MI are the five-time IPL champions, but they couldn't qualify for the playoffs in 2021.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: Twitter/Indian Premier League)

The mega event Indian Premier League (IPL) gets more special with the entry of two new teams. The concept of the mega auction has made this tournament lively and engaging even after 14 odd years since the league’s inception. The BCCI has unofficially revealed that the auction could be held between the months of December and January.

The rules of the mega auction are that the existing teams can retain a maximum of four players- a combination of three Indians and one overseas or two Indians and two overseas. Three players could be picked by the two new teams ahead of the auction. The management of the teams would already have started to toil hard to pick the right core for the next few years.

The champion side Mumbai Indians have won this tournament the most number of times and it is because of their strong core. They would prefer to retain the players who have won them a number of matches. Meanwhile, according to the reports, Hardik Pandya might not be retained in the squad.

In the article, we look at four players MI might retain ahead of the IPL mega auction

1. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: Twitter/IPL)

The most successful skipper of the league and the Mumbai Indians team is Rohit Sharma. He represented the Deccan Charges team from the inaugural season of the IPL till 2010 and was bought by the Mumbai Indians in 2011.

The team was captained by the ‘God of Cricket’ till 2011 and the captaincy was handed over to Harbhajan Singh in 2012. The management, knowing that they needed a brand ambassador to replace a stalwart like Sachin Tendulkar who retired in 2013, went on to develop this young Indian batter Rohit.

Rohit has been an ideal captain for the side since 2013. Under his maiden tenure as a captain, the team lifted their first trophy in 2013 and has won four titles since then in the years 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. He will be the first person to be retained in the squad without any doubt.