IPL 9, Match 4: RCB v SRH – Statistical Highlights

Royal Challengers Bangalore
RCB players shake hands after beating SRH in their opening match. (Photo Source: BCCI)

Royal Challengers got off to a flying start with a win at their home ground the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore with a 45-run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad. After being put into bat, RCB lost Gayle early. But AB de Villiers’ counter attack and a steady innings from Virat Kohli took their side towards a big total. Sarfaraz Khan’s blitz at the end powered RCB to finish at 227/4 in 20 overs.

Chasing a huge total, SRH didn’t look like catching the required run rate. David Warner struck a quick fire fifty but lack of support hurt his team’s chances. A few big hits towards the end from Warner and Sharma helped SRH to finish at 182/6. Here we look at all the stats and records recorded during the game.


7 – Number of times RCB won in their opening game of an IPL season. Only in 2008 and 2010, they lost their first game.

7.5 – Batting average of Virat Kohli against Ashish Nehra in Twenty20s before this game. He faced 40 balls against Nehra and scored 45 runs and got out on 6 occasions.

9 – Number of times RCB scored 200+ total in IPL. Only CSK (12) and KXIP (10) have done it on more occasions.

21 – Balls taken for fifty by David Warner. This is the 2nd fastest fifty by any player in IPL for Sunrisers Hyderabad. David Warner himself and Moises Henriques scored fifty in 20 balls for SRH in IPL.

26 – Number of fifty plus scores David Warner has in IPL, the joint most by any player. Suresh Raina and Gautam Gambhir also have 26 fifty plus scores.

40 – Number of fifty plus scores Virat Kohli has in T20s, the joint most by an Indian. Rohit Sharma also has 40 fifty plus scores. Gayle (72), Hodge (50) and Warner (49) have more than Kohli.

157 – The 157-run partnership stand between Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers was the highest partnership against Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL.

350 – Batting strike rate of Sarfaraz Khan during his innings. This is the joint 2nd highest strike rate in an IPL innings. [Min: 10 balls faced]

409 – Runs aggregate during the game is the 3rd instance of 400+ match aggregate recorded during an IPL game at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. This is also the highest match aggregate among IPL matches at this venue.

600 – Number of fours David Warner has hit in T20 cricket. He became the fifth player to hit 600 fours in T20s.

1049 – Runs scored by AB de Villiers at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore in Twenty20s. He became the 3rd player after Gayle and Kohli to score 1000 runs in this format at Bangalore.

1574 – Runs scored by Virat Kohli at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore in Twenty20s. He became only the 4th player to score over 1500 runs in a single venue in this format. Samit Patel at Trent Bridge scored 1595 runs while Chris Gayle has scored 1578 runs also at Bangalore.

3212 – Runs scored by Virat Kohli in IPL. Only Suresh Raina (3719) and Rohit Sharma (3392) have scored more runs than Kohli in the history of IPL.

How did Twitter react to the thunderous cameo by young Sarfaraz? – Twitter Reactions: Sarfaraz Khan stuns SRH with his lightning cameo