IPL captains then and now (2008 and 2021)

IPL captains then and now (2008 and 2021)

All the teams have changed their skipper since the inaugural season except CSK.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: Getty Images and IPL/BCCI)

The IPL, in its 14 years of history, has gone through a realm of changes which at present makes the high-profile league the world’s biggest T20 carnival. Whether it has changed the fortunes of cricketers from all around the globe or has emerged as a white-ball cricket’s biggest institution, the tournament, in general, has truly been cricket’s biggest cosmopolitan competition to date.

However, during the time of its inception back in 2008, barely anyone including its founder Lalit Modi had any idea on how the tournament would pan out. It now serves as the biggest cash cow that the BCCI has ever indulged in.  Just like how the opulence of the league has transformed the destiny of the BCCI, similarly, even the franchises have also endured a booming evolution.

The fan following of these IPL teams has now become as peppy as the following of certain European football clubs and with the captains always being the biggest pioneers regarding a team’s fruitful evolution, here’s our list covering the IPL captains then and now.

( NOTE – Sunrisers Hyderabad is not considered in this list as it was added in the year 2013 to the IPL)

1. Mumbai Indians: 2008 – Sachin Tendulkar, 2021- Rohit Sharma

Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma
Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: Getty Images and IPL/BCCI)

Being the most successful franchise in the history of the IPL, the MI team before the IPL’s inception in 2008, had already become the most expensive franchise to be sold in the league. The Reliance Industries Ltd owner Mukesh Ambani had bought the team for a whopping amount of $111.9 million and with BCCI selecting the four icon players to play for their home-based franchise, Sachin Tendulkar then ultimately became MI’s first captain in the inaugural IPL season.

However, the first two IPL seasons were a prolonged struggle for the franchise, especially with Sachin Tendulkar himself facing an ordeal of inconsistent form and injuries. The period from 2010 to 2012 earmarked the rising years of the franchise, as the team under Sachin’s leadership had consistently qualified for the playoffs. But the overall search for its very first IPL glory still seemed to be an elongated wait.

However, with the year 2013 becoming Sachin’s final IPL year, the MI management then had to bag the invincible services of the legendary Australian captain Ricky Ponting, who later because of his inferior form eventually dropped himself from the team in the middle of the 2013 season. A leadership crisis in between the season, however, resulted in a wholly new triumphing chapter in the franchise’s history, as the current skipper Rohit Sharma then was handed the reigns of the MI squad.

Rohit Sharma’s ingenious captaincy had become an instant hit for the MI team ultimately yielding the franchise its first IPL glory in 2013. Another IPL title in 2015 and following the next two in 2017 and 2019, meant that the team had become a certain force if it’s held in an odd-numbered year. However, with 2020 being the oddest of years mankind has ever faced in a while, the MI team under Rohit Sharma’s leadership landed its fifth trophy and is perhaps the most valuable franchise so far in the IPL’s history.