IPL Emerging Player Winners List From 2008 to 2024

IPL Emerging Player Winners List From 2008 to 2024
IPL Emerging Player Winners List From 2008 to 2024

Every year, the Indian Premier League witnesses an incredible amount of talent. To recognize that talent, the “Emerging Player of the Year” award is given to a young player who has excelled throughout the competition. For a player to be recognized as the Emerging Player of the Year, there are a few criteria that he must fulfill.

Criteria for Emerging Player of the Year Winners:

1) The player should have been born after 1st April 1996.

2) Also, the player in contention should not have played more than 25 Indian Premier League matches at the start of an IPL season.

3) The player should not have played more than 20 ODIs and 5 Test matches.

4) And finally, the player in contention should not have won the award previously.

The slogan of the Indian Premier League is “Yatra Pratibha Avsara Prapnotihi,” which translates to “Where talent meets opportunity.” It encapsulates the motto of the tournament as it provides a platform for young cricketers to showcase their talent to the entire world.

The budding cricketers get to play against the best player from all around the globe. Over the years, IPL has seen several youngsters who’ve taken the tournament by storm with their stupendous performances and impressed the cricketing fraternity with their incredible talent.

Shreevats Goswami from Royal Challengers Bangalore became the first player to win the Emerging Player of the season award in IPL 2008 while Rohit Sharma won it in the 2009 edition playing for Deccan Chargers. Mustafizur Rahman is the only foreign player to claim the award so far, winning it in the 2016 season.

MI’s Saurabh Tiwary won the award in 2010 while CSK’s Iqbal Abdullah won it in 2011. Both players went into oblivion after getting the award as they failed to replicate their heroics going ahead in their careers.

The other names to win the award are Sanju Samson (2013), Axar Patel (2014), Shreyas Iyer (2015), Rishabh Pant (2018), Shubman Gill (2019) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021). Umran (2022), Yashasvi Jaiswal (2023) and Nitish Kumar Reddy (2024)

Check Here: IPL 2024 Prize Money List

IPL Emerging Player Winners List: From 2008 to 2024

Year Player Team
2008 Shreevats Goswami Royal Challengers Bangalore
2009 Rohit Sharma Deccan Chargers
2010 Saurabh Tiwary Mumbai Indians
2011 Iqbal Abdulla Kolkata Knight Riders
2012 Mandeep Singh Kings XI Punjab
2013 Sanju Samson Rajasthan Royals
2014 Axar Patel Kings XI Punjab
2015 Shreyas Iyer Delhi Daredevils
2016 Mustafizur Rahman Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Basil Thampi Gujarat Lions
2018 Rishabh Pant Delhi Capitals
2019 Shubman Gill Kolkata Knight Riders
2020 Devdutt Padikkal Royal Challengers Bangalore
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad Chennai Super Kings
2022 Umran Malik Sunrisers Hyderabad
2023 Yashasvi Jaiswal Rajasthan Royals
2024 Nitish Kumar Reddy Kolkata Knight Riders

*Last Updated on 26th May 2024