IPL: Teams that scored 200-plus runs most times

IPL: Teams that scored 200-plus runs most times

Breaching the 200-run mark has been bread and butter for a few teams in the tournament.

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers
Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) will finally knock doors from September 19, and everything related to the event is witnessing its final phase. While a lot and lot has been done to successfully host the mega event inside the bio-secure bubble, it will be a thing to watch out how would the entire extravaganza unfolds.

The cricket action will take place across three cities of UAE, namely Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah. The IPL format has always been known for producing some thunderous innings. Sometimes it’s the team that throws the huge target collectively, or sometimes even a solo performance by a player steals the show.

Whatever it may be, the cash-rich and prestigious T20 league is famous for witnessing some great numbers on the board that generally breach the 200-run mark.

In the same light, let’s look at the top 5 teams with most 200+ totals: –

5. Kolkata Knight Riders-11

Kolkata Knight Riders
Kolkata Knight Riders’ Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav and Andre Russell. (Photo by Kuntal Chakrabarty/IANS)

The Kolkata Knight Riders stand to be one of the most successful franchises in the history of IPL with two titles to their credit. They have outclassed the opponents with some hard-hitting skills in recent years. Starting from Brendon McCullum in opening years to Andre Russell currently, the list has some great names.

The thing to be noted at this point is that KKR’s first 200+ score happened to be in the very first match of IPL way back in 2008. It happened on April 18, 2018, that KKR stunned Royal Challengers Bangalore by posting 222/7 on the board. It is of no wonder that the team has crossed the 200-mark on 11 occasions.

KKR’s highest score came against Kings XI Punjab at Mohali in the 2018 edition of IPL where the former scored a gigantic 245/6. Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, and Dinesh Karthik’s fabulous innings pushed the team to produce this wonder. The Kolkata-based franchise has their maximum 200+ against Punjab itself.