Ireland tri-series: Bangladesh squad for the tournament announced

Ireland tri-series: Bangladesh squad for the tournament announced

The series gets underway on Sunday, May 5.

Mashrafe Mortaza
Mashrafe Mortaza. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Today at 12:30 pm BST, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 15-member squad for the ICC World Cup 2019, scheduled to start on Thursday, May 30. The selection panel, led by Nazmul Hasan Papon, attended a press conference at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur where the squad was named. Their campaign will begin against South Africa at the Kennington Oval on Sunday, June 2.

Prior to that, the Tigers are set to play a tri-nation One Day International series in Ireland, featuring the hosts and the Windies. The series gets underway on Sunday, May 5 and Bangladesh will play their first game against the Caribbean team on Tuesday, May 7 at the Clontarf Cricket Club Ground in Dublin. The fixtures are also a chance for the Tigers to get their combination in place before the mega event.

Two additional inclusions from World Cup squad

As far as the squad is concerned, all the 15 players who are a part of the World Cup squad have been included. Apart from that two more players in Nayeem Hasan, the 18-year-old teenage all-rounder and batsman Yasir Ali also made the cut. Nayeem has played a couple of Tests against the Windies back in November but is yet to make his international debut in the coloured-clothing formats.

In the DPL One Day tournament, Nayeem has got 10 wickets in seven games while scoring 87 runs with the bat. On the other hand, Yasir was impressive for the Chittagong Vikings in the 2019 BPL and he carried on with the form in the DPL as well, scoring 425 runs at an average of 85 with one century and a couple of half-centuries. Nayeem was also a part of the Mushfiqur Rahim-led Vikings.

Here is the squad

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (C), Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Jayed Rahi, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Yasir Ali, Nayeem Hasan

[interaction id=”5ca62eed4869a84efcd1f2f5″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier League (IPL)Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on