Jason Holder goes with Warne-Tendulkar combo in his all-time XI

Jason Holder's all time XI features some big names but the all-rounder has gone with only one spinner in his team.

Jason Holder
West Indies cricket team captain Jason Holder. (Photo by JEWEL SAMAD/AFP/Getty Images)

West Indies captain Jason Holder has named his all time XI, consisting of some very big names of world cricket. In an initiative by Lord’s Cricket Ground, former and current cricketers take their time out to name their all-time XIs. The clips are available in the official Lord’s channel on Youtube.

The Windies all-rounder picked up maestro Sachin Tendulkar, spin wizard Shane Warne and run-machine Brian Lara among the rest in his playing XI. Interestingly, Holder chose legendary Sri Lankan wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara as one of the openers in his team.


“The reason being – I think his record is exceptional. For me, he has to get into my all-time XI. You want to place him in; so you have to squeeze him at the top (of the order).”

The Holder XI will see Sangakkara opening the innings along with Australia’s ‘gladiator’ Matthew Hayden. Both the left-handers have been successful against the new ball, and it looks like the duo can provide the perfect start to the innings.

The middle order have got proven customers in Ricky Ponting, Brian Lara and Tendulkar. One of the greatest all-rounder Jacques Kallis has been included to balance out the lineup, and the squad will be powered by Adam Gilchrist in the lower middle order.

The pack of pacers looks promising, as the likes of Dale Steyn, Glenn McGrath and Curtly Ambrose lines up to have a go at the batsman. Holder might just have shaped up his eleven with a pace-heavy attack but lone spinner Warne can very well create trouble in the sub-continent all alone.

Jason Holder’s All-Time XI – Matthew Hayden (Australia), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Ricky Ponting (C) (Australia), Brian Lara (West Indies), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Adam Gilchrist (WK) (Australia), Shane Warne (Australia), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Curtly Ambrose (West Indies) and Glenn McGrath (Australia)

Watch the video here: